Grandma Ople's Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
Best apple pie ever! Super easy to make. Peeling the apples can be a little time consuming though. I like to use the full amount of apples in the recipe. It may seem like a lot, but when you bake it and they all soften, it'll end up being the perfect amount. Like others, I like to add cinnamon to the recipe. I like to eat it hot and topped with vanilla ice cream! Yummmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by riulynn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Theresa Ferraro
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
Very easy, delicious pie! My son and I made this together!! We used Ambrosia apples, with a little added dash of cinnamon, just like our Nonnie taught us! Overall amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Theresa Ferraro

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
Just like the other reviewers suggested I added cinnamon, nutmeg, and vanilla to it. I also mixed part of the carmel sauce with the apples and then poured the rest over the top crust. The pie made my kitchen smell wonderful and brought back memories of a bakery in Stone Harbor, NJ. I had to make it in a bread pan instead of a pie tin which allowed all the apples to fit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
Made per recipe. I'm not a pie baker but this one turned out awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Butler, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
This was the greatest apple pie recipe ever. I would not change a thing. I love that it was from a very loved Grandma and was shared with us. You do not always have to add cinnamon to apples. That is what I loved about this recipe. It was so fresh and delicious, and you could taste the wonderful flavors of the apples instead of just cinnamon. It was so much fun making it. I made it for my boyfriends birthday. He had to work out of town, so he took it with him and shared it with his friends. Everyone loved it!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie Jacobs

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2014
This pie is AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Georgina DeWeese

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Phyllis
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
This recipe is so easy and turns out so beautiful. Can't wait to taste it! I'm sure it will be delicious and will be my favorite apple pie from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
Well, I must've done something wrong. I followed directions except added the teaspoon of cinnamon and poured 2/3 of the sauce over the apples and the rest on top. The taste was fantastic but not enough of the sauce came through the lattice work. The top crust was too crispy. It didn't look like the picture. Also, there was a lot of liquid in the pie, so maybe the water isn't necessary. We ate it slightly warm, but it wouldn't think that it make it that runny. I did not get rave reviews from the family like I was expecting. I would like to make it again, but will put all sauce inside, and maybe omit the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
The only thing I did different was to mix the cooked mixture with the apples before putting in pie pan, reserving a portion to dribble through the slits in a regular top crust. It worked great and my son-in-law said it was the BEST apple pie he had ever eaten. I, too, agree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
I hands down awesome....a added vanilla, nutmeg, cinnamon to the apples - the rest is good to go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Matthew Scheufele

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 1,766) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Apple Slab Pie

Apple pie baked in a rectangular pan with a crumble topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States