Grandma Ople's Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by Aleisha Andreasen
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
Excellent! Will do again for Christmas. I used organic apples, sugars and butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aleisha Andreasen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
I just tried this recipe and everyone loved it! My husband asked me if I had won any awards for it. I didn't even get a bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Vu Ng?c Phuong Trang
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
I'm neither a professional chef nor experienced in pie making. This is the first pie I have ever made, and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
Delicious!!! My kids said this was the best apple pie ever!! We used green tart apples from our apple tree, and added werthers chewy caramels to the pie before putting the apples in. It turned into a fun family project. It's a pie to be proud of.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rebecca Buscham
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
It's wonderful! I make it every year on thanksgiving for my family and they love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca Buscham
Living In: The Colony, Texas, USA
Photo by Casa Hice
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
Sadly, I did not inheret the baking gene, so when I was asked to bring apple pie to Thanksgiving this year I almost panicked. Luckily, AllRecipes had my back and I found Grandma Opel's Apple Pie recipe. The reviews won me over, so I made a test pie - including the lattice top (first time for me)! It came out pretty good, although the inside was slightly runny. It probably wouldn't have been if I'd used all 8 apples, but I couldn't fit them all in my pie. With one pie under my belt (literally), I baked the pie again yesterday for today's Thanksgiving dinner. This time, I made sure to use all the apples - which made a mile-high mound. I also added 2 teaspoons of cinnamon and a few shakes of apple pie spice. I was hoping a nice overnight rest in the refrigerator will help the filling set and not be soupy. I'll let you know how pie #2 compares after we devour it today. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Casa Hice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Veronica Wilson
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
First time user for this recipe. Baked 2, one for test, and final product. Made adjustments on the final product. Used store bought pie crusts. Next time making this I will make my own crusts for beautiful presentation. This will be my go-to recipe for Apple pie. SCRUMPTIOUS! NOT KIDDING! Easy! The adjustments I made, based on everybody's input on comments: used 2 Gala, and 5 Granny's. I added 4tbsp sugar (white & brown) to the sliced apples with cinnamon and vanilla before pouring it into the crust. Baking it on the very bottom of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Veronica Wilson

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cedaredge, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shanisse Frenchwood
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
This was great! Thank you so much for sharing your recipe. And thank you everyone who made comments about your experience. The comments assured me that I needed to try. I'm new to making pies and had a blasts making this. I did add nutmeg and cinnamon to the apples when I placed them in the bowl. I just sprinkled a little of both in the bowl with the apples. My dad uses nutmeg with his homemade pies so I figured it would be good. Also after seeing reviews from other doing the same. I used Pillsbury ready made crust which i may not do again. Making your own is always better. I'll be making this again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
Best apple pie ever !!! Didn't change a thing. !! No need to add anything. !! It's perfection. After making this a few times I have found it easier to use a ladle when pouring the butter-sugar mixture over the top of the pie instead of pouring the mixture directly from a pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Belford

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
this is the 2nd thanksgiving i have made this pie it is a must have on our table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 1,779) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Apple Slab Pie

Apple pie baked in a rectangular pan with a crumble topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States