Grandma Ople's Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
This was just amazing as the reviews say it will be. I did add 1 tsp of cinnamon to the apples and think it's necessary. I also think doing the lattice crust is necessary because the crust then absorbs the sauce which is great. I had no issues with it bubbling over, but I did take a long time to pour the sauce in and let it sink into the apples. I also dusted the top of the freshly baked pie with cinnamon. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CarsonMaciMommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
Great pie recipe! Made it a dozen times and it always turns out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Katy
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
Me, not a baker, had no problems. Easy. Had enough apples to make two pies. Used frozen pie crusts (thawed) for bottom and refrigerated pie crust for top lattice work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
This is my apple pie go-to starter recipe. I do a couple things different is why I rated a 4. With my changes its a perfect 10. Always beautiful, taste is amazing and ALWAYS gets eaten first at the holidays. I put 3/4 tsp pumpkin pie spice in with the butter/sugar mixture. I have all my apples peeled, sliced and in a bowl. I then pour my butter/sugar mixture over the apples in the bowl, give it a good stir and let it sit while I put my crust in my pie dish. I DO NOT pour the mixture over the top crust. I use an egg white wash over the top and sprinkle sugar crystals over the top. Boom... Perfect pie, every time. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Foodie
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
Kids love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
Best apple pie I've ever tasted. I'm not very good at baking pies, yet this came out delicious. Definitely a repeat...deserves more than five stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
We Have A WINNER!! :D First go was this Thanksgiving (2013) and it received a very positive response (and not much in the Leftover Department). So, then I made it to freeze and totally botched up the recipe, mixing the topping ingredients *with* the apples, and again, preparing then pouring the topping over the pie, baking, then freezing. That one remains to be tried. (I'll let you know.) However, this morning's attempt is darn-near perfecto! (And that picture is exactly what she looked like right before introducing her to the oven.) I added a healthy pinch of Pumpkin Pie Spice (Trader Joe's or The Spice Hunter have good, full flavor; this morning I used TJ's) to the buttery-sugar topping to give the apples a bit of a bump. They were not tart enough (in my opinion), and thought to douse a bit of fresh lemon juice on them before the lattice went on but I did not. Thank you, Miss Ople, for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by D Jennifer Dawson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
I made this pie for Thanksgiving and it was a big hit. I am making it again for Christmas. Easy and very tasty. Best apple pie I've made to date. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
Been using this for over three years now. My secret is using Trader Joe's pie crusts. They use butter and look/taste like home-made. Thank you so much for sharing your grandmother's recipe with the world :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline Clark

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
This recipe is incredibly easy and delicious every time, my go-to Apple pie recipes. The first time i made it I had a small bit of trouble with the lattice top crust(because I was using frozen pie crust)so I broke pieces off and placed them on top. The pie still looked amazing and tasted even better when done. This is always a party hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 1,802) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Apple Slab Pie

Apple pie baked in a rectangular pan with a crumble topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States