Grandma Ople's Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
I haven't made apple pie in a number of years, so I went to the computer for a refresher. This turned out to be the best apple pie I have made as far as I can remember. Simple, yet delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
I've made this pie twice and both times it's gone immediately!! I have celiacs so the only change I've made is to use gluten free flour and gluten free pie shells. I also mix the cinnamon with the apples. Everyone loves it. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
This is my go-to apple pie recipe that I have served at the past three thanksgivings. This past year was the best one yet. I used 6 granny smith apples and two Gala apples. The pie melded together perfectly, creating a moist and delicious dessert. Best apple pie recipe around!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
this was a huge hit at my house! everyone loved it and it has quickly become a tradition in the house
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Strickland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
The best!!! Simple and amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
This pie is always a hit no matter who I serve it to. It's my go-to apple pie recipe. I've been asked for the recipe many times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
exceptional!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
This is, by a landslide - the best apple pie around. I only make lattice crust tops for berry pies, so I covered this apple pie with a top crust with apple shaped cut-outs. For this reason, I poured the sugar/butter mixture over the apples before placing the top crust on. The apple filling will set once the pie cools. It's divine. Add some ice cream or homemade whipped cream and you've got yourself a blue ribbon pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia I.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bala Cynwyd, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
Awesome my children and guests said it was the best pie they ever tasted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
I've made this 6 times for picky crowds, and each time there were no leftovers. When making the filling, I followed other's recommendations and added 1 tsp cinnamon, 1/4 tsp nutmeg and replaced 1 tsp water with 1 tsp vanilla which added more flavor. I used the Butter Flaky Pie Crust (also found on allrecipes.com)and doubled it to make a bottom and top crust. I've found that mixing the filling with the apples before pouring into the pie crust was preferred over pouring it over the top crust (as instructed) because it gets distributed more evenly, especially if you cook the filling too long and the butter separates from the sugar. Otherwise, it will just clump on the top crust. Overall, THE best and only apple pie recipe you should use from the Internet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Li

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 1,671) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States