Grandma Ople's Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
Best recipe ever. Add cinnamon to make it even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BShredder
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
First pie I ever baked and it was amazing! Perfect balance of flavors. I did layer cinnamon as some of the other posters suggested, which worked perfectly! Look no further, you've found the recipe to pass down to future generations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tiffany
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
This was delicious. I used red apples instead of Granny Smith because I prefer sweet over tart flavors. I also added cinnamon, but I only added the cinnamon to the top of the pie after it had already been baking for about 15 minutes. I did not do the layered pie top because this was my first attempt at making homemade apple pie so I put the dough on top and made a couple slits in it. The filling came out a little soupy, but the taste is still out of this world. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
Really struck gold with this recipe..... Followed most the directions, but after reading some other reviews, generously sprinkled nutmeg and cinnamon on the apples before the hot liquid was added. Also I have not done a lattice top yet, so I went the easy route with a standard double crust pie. Oh Lord, this pie was delicious! Made it last night, and we finished it this morning.(Giggling that we had pie for breakfast...) Making two more this afternoon, one for my house and one for my parents (Dad). Wonderful recipe! Thank you for sharing this~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
This was so delicious, my son requested it for his birthday. As some readers suggest, I recommend adding a touch of cinnamon to the apples. The only other thing I would change is maybe stir a little bit of the sauce, plus a tsp or so of water, into the apples beforehand because it was a little dry. The flavor was fantastic. I brushed the bottom crust with egg and baked it for 15 min before assembling the pie, to prevent it from getting mushy. I used granny smith apples and cooked it for 45 min on 350 (after the initial 425). I suggest cooking it another 5 minutes as they were still a little crisp. Seven apples were plenty. I used Ruth's Grandma's Pie Crust Recipe, which was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by scout

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by THOM79
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
Love this pie!!! I didnt change a thing in the recipe and it turned out awesome. Its also the the first time I made a lattice crust so although it doesnt look perfect it sure does taste wonderful. Everyone in my family said it was the best apple pie they have ever eaten!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THOM79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
I made this recipe as is. It was perfect. Follow the instructions exactly. Best pie ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Sanchez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
Absolutely Wonderful Recipe !!! You can add vanilla & nutmeg You can add cinnamon You can LEAVE IT ALONE Its so darn good you cant mess it up!!!! Makes me feel like a PRO ..THANKS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyof2
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
I've used a lot of recipes from this website that ended up delicious, but I've never rated or written a review until now. This pie was absutely DELICIOUS!!! I followed the recipe exactly, except I only needed 6 whole apples since we picked huge, fresh, ripe apples from an orchard on Carter Mountain, and 6 was all we needed; we used Jonagold apples since they were ripe on the mountain; and finally, I did add approximately 2 teaspoons of Apple Pie Spice (a mixture of cinnamon, nutmeg, and cardamom). Everything else, I did exactly! The lattice work on top allows the mixture to get on the crust and seep into the apples inside, so it was perfect! And DELICIOUS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
Printed out the recipe two days ago and see that it's been changed--yippee! I was going to write that you should watch the video first because the recipe used to call for water before the sugars. If you do that (which I did), you end up with glop. Major glop. Because everything else was prepared, I just went ahead and plopped the glop on top! And trust me, it does look like a Dr. Seuss creation! Can't wait to try it again. PS I am so sick of sugar that I used the same butter, flour & water, but only 1/4 cup of each of the sugars. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan E. Smith

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 1,724) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Apple Slab Pie

Apple pie baked in a rectangular pan with a crumble topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States