Grandma Ople's Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2015
I will start by saying that I hate apple pie, always did. However, this one is amazing. I added a little cinnamon, and I didn't do the lattice crust or pour the sauce on the crust. I put all of the caramel sauce inside the pie and did a traditional double crust. I used gala apples and only needed about 6. It's so good. It's even better warm with vanilla ice cream. I'm making it again this weekend. Everyone loves this pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2015
Delicious! I added 1/2 tsp nutmeg, 1 tsp cinnamon, a squirt of lemon, and a tablespoon of corn starch and tossed it with the apples. I also added 1 tsp of vanilla extract to the Carmel sauce. So good! I've also added chopped walnuts to the Carmel sauce before pouring it over the apples. Amazing either way! Highly recommend! It's a Carmel Apple pie full of goodness
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2015
Excellent apple pie recipe. Highly recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2015
Loved it! Simple and always delicious, I did add some nutmeg and cinnamon to the mixture and mixed the apples in the topping then put in pie shell!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklin, Maine, USA
Living In: San Juan Capistrano, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2015
Best apple pie I've ever made, and I've made a few. I did mix in 1/2 tsp cinnamon to the sliced apples and I like the results a lot. I did not make a lattice top; I poured the sauce on the apples, made a solid top, and vented. But next time I think I will make the lattice top, as per the recipe. I also sliced it too soon, and of course the filling ran out because it hadn't set yet. Next time I will TRY to let it cool for a few hours before slicing. We'll see.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2015
This may sound crazy but this pie recipe holds a special place in my heart. I decided to make apple pie from scratch for thanksgiving. I followed this recipe and it turned out amazing. My grandfather, who was a man of few words raved and raved about the pie and how amazed he was I made it (I always let my mom and grandma do the cooking!) He passed away a few months later and now every thanksgiving I remember that moment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2015
Made this pie 3 times now. I used honey-crisp apples by mistake the first time and it resulted in an AMAZING pie. Like seriously I'm not one to boast but this pie was to DIE for. I used honey-crisp apples for the rest of my pies and each turned out equally amazing. I paired this with Ruth's Grandma's Pie Crust substituting the water for vodka (makes it extra flakey).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katiebeck

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2015
Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2015
Amazing! The best apple pie, done with a nice flakey crust makes it our household Sunday desert; the perfect recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Leduc, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sogpog33
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2015
Simply marvelous! I did use a different apple ( Lady Alice) since I had it already, and added a little cinnamon to the apples before pouring into the crust. I also added some chopped walnuts sparingly to the crust. I bake the pie in a breakaway pan. Looked like a deep dish. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,800) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Apple Slab Pie

Apple pie baked in a rectangular pan with a crumble topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States