Grandma Ople's Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
Delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
This was my first attempt at a pie. Great, easy to follow recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie Ann Shaw

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coniston, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
I'm not a big fan of apple pie but my husband is. So after 31 years of marriage I decided to make him one. I'm not a pie baker - but this is EASY and The Best apple pie I've ever tasted. I did add cinnamon and also sprinkled the top with cinnamon and sugar as my husband likes cinnamon in an apple pie. If you read Opel's grand-daughter's story - I get the feeling that Opel might have added it too if she had had it on hand the day she created it. for this first attempt I did not make the lattice top - but after watching the video of how to do that - I will do it next time I make it. This time I just put a regular top crust on it - poking holes in the top to let out steam. And because of this I had to mix the sugar and butter mixture into the apples before putting them into the pie. I baked it exactly as Opel instructed (adding some tinfoil around the edges to keep them from getting too dark as mine seem to always do if I don't put the foil around the edges - I also tented it with foil the last 1/2 hour as my pies have always gotten dark crusts if I don't). You can see that I have to put some safe-holds in place being an inexperience pie baker -but you probably won't have too if you bake pies regularly. So, Dear Opel - I loved your pie and so did my husband. I will make it again for sure! Patti
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
This recipe is delicious, it was my first apple pie and my new favorite. I made a few minor additions like cinnamon and nutmeg and a little vanilla, it was perfect! Thanks for posting this one, its going in my recipe box forever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
My husband liked this recipe better than any pie he's ever eaten. (Even grandma's!!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
Best apple pie ever! Super easy to make. Peeling the apples can be a little time consuming though. I like to use the full amount of apples in the recipe. It may seem like a lot, but when you bake it and they all soften, it'll end up being the perfect amount. Like others, I like to add cinnamon to the recipe. I like to eat it hot and topped with vanilla ice cream! Yummmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by riulynn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Theresa Ferraro
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
Very easy, delicious pie! My son and I made this together!! We used Ambrosia apples, with a little added dash of cinnamon, just like our Nonnie taught us! Overall amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Theresa Ferraro

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
Just like the other reviewers suggested I added cinnamon, nutmeg, and vanilla to it. I also mixed part of the carmel sauce with the apples and then poured the rest over the top crust. The pie made my kitchen smell wonderful and brought back memories of a bakery in Stone Harbor, NJ. I had to make it in a bread pan instead of a pie tin which allowed all the apples to fit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
Made per recipe. I'm not a pie baker but this one turned out awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Butler, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
This was the greatest apple pie recipe ever. I would not change a thing. I love that it was from a very loved Grandma and was shared with us. You do not always have to add cinnamon to apples. That is what I loved about this recipe. It was so fresh and delicious, and you could taste the wonderful flavors of the apples instead of just cinnamon. It was so much fun making it. I made it for my boyfriends birthday. He had to work out of town, so he took it with him and shared it with his friends. Everyone loved it!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie Jacobs

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 1,784) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Apple Slab Pie

Apple pie baked in a rectangular pan with a crumble topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States