Grandma Ople's Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
I made a lot of changes using this fantastic recipe for the base to tweak it to my taste. I cut the sauce recipe in half because it simply sounded too sweet and too rich and used the same amount of apples to make the pie. I also added 1 t. cinnamon, a 1/4 t. nutmeg and 1/4 t. salt. to the sauce along with an extra T. of flour. I used JonaGold apples and it was fantastic. And I also used a regular, top crust (no lattice) with slits for venting. The half recipe of sauce that I made, I mixed in with the apples, put them in the pie pan and then topped with the crust. I baked the pie for 45-50 minutes at 365 (My crust did not burn at all!) Be mindful of the size of slices you cut the apples into. Smaller apple pieces bake faster. I actually cut my apples into 1/2 inch size chunks and they came out soft but not mushy. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by stanfield.julia
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
Best ever! I have made this pie so many times! I usually add cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stanfield.julia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rick Ross
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
Wow. Amazing. Really, I was a bit skeptical that the butter/sugar mixture would permeate all layers of the raw apples, but it did so with a resulting perfect balance. I used granny smith apples (why would you use anything else???) and sliced them thin - about 1/4 inch or less each. I was able to cut into the pie after only 1/2 hour of cooling and it was not at all runny. The next day, I re-heated a slice and it was still very moist. I did add about 1/2 teaspoon each of nutmeg and cinnamon to the filling sauce. But other than that, I followed the recipe. Without a doubt the best apple pie I've ever tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kristin
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
Amazing recipe! Best apple pie I have ever had hands down. Notes: I used Johnathan apples instead of Granny Smith, which turned out great. And I would recommend pouring half the sauce inside the pie instead of all on top of it. It was so much liquid it spilled over the crust & over the sides and down into the oven as it cooked. But avoid that and you will have a perfect pie better than any you could buy in a store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
Made it as directed but added macadamia nuts a about 1/2 T's of cinnamon. Tasted great thanks for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
The last time I made an apple pie everything looked perfect, but it didn't taste good. Now I discovered after the first fifteen minutes at 425 my crust burned really badly. Maybe the recipe should also include a step that involves putting foil on the crust for a long time and then taking it off for browning purposes. On the other hand it tasted really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalie Campos

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
Needs cinnamon, but very delicious anyways :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber Massett

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
Pretty good. Don't use GS apples next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
Best. Apple. Pie. EVER. Made the sauce as-written, but had to cut back on the amount of apples, as I apparently do not own a deep-dish pie plate. This will be remedied, because this pie deserves a deep dish! The sauce needed no tampering--no cinnamon or other spices necessary, really. The apples I used were Stayman Winesap, not G.S. but they are similar in that they are firm, somewhat tart apples that hold up nicely in a pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CharlotteMay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by MrsG
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
My picture is pre-filling. I made this pie for a work get together and my big boss came to me and said "that was the best tasting pie I have ever had in my entire life." I do, however-tweak it a just a little tiny bit. I use only 1/2 stick of butter and 2 table spoons of flour. I'm trying to go lighter on both still- but I'm still experimenting with the tweak-its so good-I do this because, TO ME, the whole stick of butter and all the flour makes it taste a tad heavy and a bit too much butter in the flavor-which kind of took from the desired fresh apple taste. Love this pie-Thanks Grandma Ople!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 1,730) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Apple Slab Pie

Apple pie baked in a rectangular pan with a crumble topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States