Grandma Ople's Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
exceptional!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
This is, by a landslide - the best apple pie around. I only make lattice crust tops for berry pies, so I covered this apple pie with a top crust with apple shaped cut-outs. For this reason, I poured the sugar/butter mixture over the apples before placing the top crust on. The apple filling will set once the pie cools. It's divine. Add some ice cream or homemade whipped cream and you've got yourself a blue ribbon pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia I.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bala Cynwyd, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
Awesome my children and guests said it was the best pie they ever tasted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
I've made this 6 times for picky crowds, and each time there were no leftovers. When making the filling, I followed other's recommendations and added 1 tsp cinnamon, 1/4 tsp nutmeg and replaced 1 tsp water with 1 tsp vanilla which added more flavor. I used the Butter Flaky Pie Crust (also found on allrecipes.com)and doubled it to make a bottom and top crust. I've found that mixing the filling with the apples before pouring into the pie crust was preferred over pouring it over the top crust (as instructed) because it gets distributed more evenly, especially if you cook the filling too long and the butter separates from the sugar. Otherwise, it will just clump on the top crust. Overall, THE best and only apple pie recipe you should use from the Internet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
Made this for a get together with friends and they *LOVED* it! I was a little bit scared because of the filling sat on top, but it soaked in and tasted oh-so-yummy. This is one I'll definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jane Austen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
Every gathering I go to, this is always requested. Thank you for the recipe! I did some things a little differently. I added ground cinnamon on the apples before putting them on the pie crust (not the sauce just the apples) and poured the sugar and butter liquid over the apples. Because I did not have the time to make my own crust, I just bought the Pillsbury deep dish crust which comes with 2 pie crusts so I used the other one as the cover instead of lattice. I also brushed the top part with egg white and sprinkled some sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
I have never liked store bought apple pie,but my children LOVE apple pie. So I decided to try a homemade recipe.I am soooo happy I tried Grandma Ople's recipe. This recipe is the best apple pie I have ever tried!! But be prepared to make it alot, as I always get asked to make this apple pie recipe for every occasion we attend!! :D Thank-you so much for sharing! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wine72

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
Was a major hit with everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mskenya27

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
I have done the lattice top and solid top and prefer the solid. It keeps in the caramel topping in better. I also use 6 apples for 9" deep pie pan. Amazing! I have been making it for the last 3 years for the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
This recipe, coupled with a pre-made crust, makes apple pie SO easy. I mix my apples in with the syrup (I also add vanilla and apple pie spice) and then pour them into the crust, then brush remaining syrup on the top crust. My husband will not stop raving about this pie recipe; he claims it's better than any store bought pie. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 1,655) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States