Grandma Ople's Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 18)
Photo by Miss_Caroline
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
Amazing! The texture and flavour of he filling is beyond compare. It reheats well, but is just as lovely cold & maybe even better the next day! If you can keep off it that long ;). Made with Ruth's Grandma's Pie Crust fom this site that I had in the freezer. Perfect & easy! I add spices for personal preference, but 'as is' is still fab! Posted a pick of the very last slice...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kristiansand, Vest-Agder, Norway

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
The sauce makes this apple pie better than any homemade one I've had. I couldn't resist adding a teaspoon of cinnamon to the apples but otherwise I followed the recipe. This will be my only apple pie recipe from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
Yet another 5 star review. Added 1 t cinnamon & 2 t vanilla paste to the caramel. I used the Cook's Illustrated foolproof pie crust recipe. Brushed the lattice crust with the caramel & that was fantastic - it hardened into a crisp toffee-like coating. Next time - and there will be a next time - I think I will brush the inner crust w egg white & blind bake very briefly. Additionally I don't know if my granny smith's where unusually large but there was no way I could have gotten 8 apples worth of slices into the pie pan. I used 5 at the most and now I have a lot of leftover slices. Additional tweaks I think would be worth trying - stirring in some grated cheddar cheese to the apples, subbing some red wine or bourbon for the water in the caramel, adding some very finely chopped crystalized ginger to the caramel. There's lots of add-in's that I think would work wonderfully with this pie but as a base to work from I don't think it could be beat. Lattice crust seems like more work than it is worth but maybe a full top crust would keep in too much moisture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
I'm not a big Apple Pie fan, but FOR SURE this is the best apple pie I've ever eaten. I've baked it 3 times now and have gotten rave reviews each time. Nothing like the smell of Apple Pie to fill the house. You must try this recipe! You won't regret it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
Awesome!!! Best apple pie ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
i have made this multiple times just without the lattice crust, and it is beyond fabulous! i do think that the recipe calls for too tart of apples and too many. i usually only use 4 gala, but of course that is just my preference. i will never use any other recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Torymom
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
Absolutely awesome! I've made this pie several times and even those in my family who don't normally care for apple pie love it! Thanks for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Torymom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
I get incredible reviews of this pie!! Love that it has no cinnamon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
Amazing! This is my second time making this pie and it was even better this time! Last time the bottom crust was a bit undercooked and the glazed lattice got slightly burnt. This time I did everything according to directions again, except placed the pie one rack lower in the oven. By using the rack one below the middle, the bottom crust was completely cooked and the top was nicely browned! Incredible tasting! A new family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by greenthumb

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
This is the best apple pie I've ever had. When I first tried this I cut the ingredients in half because I had a left over pie dough. I didn't do the lattice crust. I just pour the sugar mixture over the apples and cover it with the dough. It came out perfect. However, when I tried the recipe again following the measurement that the recipe called for, the sugar mixture was too thick that when I pour it over the lattice, it didn't seep through the holes and it got stuck on top of the crust. The apple was sour and it was runny. I will try the recipe again but next time I'll pour the mixture over the apples then leave some to pour over the top. I would still rate this recipe 5 stars because I tried it before and it was good. Anyhow, my children still enjoyed the pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 171-180 (of 1,706) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Apple Slab Pie

Apple pie baked in a rectangular pan with a crumble topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States