Grandma Ople's Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 18)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
This was yummy..thankyou
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
When I was younger, my great grandma would make apple pie for me every summer when we went to her house in montana. It was the best. I would look forward to it every year. I was 15 when i last saw her and when I was about 18 she passed away. Since then, I had refused to have apple pie. However, when thanksgiving came around last year I decided to give it a shot and my mother found this recipe and it tasted exactly like hers except it was better some how lol. I have used this recipe at least 7 times this past year. It is amazing. Everyone has loved it. I did add a tad bit of cinnamon with the sauce though :3
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
Made this Dozens of times - usually 2 or three at a time because everyone loves it. You can fool with the recipe if you bur you simply cannot improve on perfection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mo B.
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
This recipe has become a staple in our house especially around the holidays. I always get compliments and it looks as impressive as it tastes. I brush the lattice with a bit of the sauce and it makes the pie look even more delicious. Try it, you'll like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
I have made this several times and by far this is the best apple pie recipe! I wouldn't change a thing!!(and for those who do...you shouldn't be leaving a review!) Thank you so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
I can't believe what a hit this pie was at Thanksgiving! I even used Pillsbury pre-made crusts, didn't do the lattice (time constraints), just cut a couple of vents on top, AND the caramel totally solidified on me before I could pour it on. Still, I poured 2/3 over the apples as best I could, and put little clumps of the remaining caramel in different spots around the top of the crust (they baked into each other in a very cool way). I also added one pear and some frozen raspberries I had lying around for color. I am still getting texts about how amazing it was, days later! I served it with fresh whipped cream and vanilla ice cream, yum yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
i have never made an apple pie before so this is my first an was very easy!! i had enough apples for 2 pies since i used large apples so i did one pie by the directions for the first but i added cinnamon to the mixture and on the second pie i filled the pie crust with the apples poured most of the mixture directly on the apples did the top sprinkled with cinnamon sugar then i poured the remaining over that. it was awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
I made this pie for Thanksgiving. It was the best Apple pie I have ever made! I added traditional apple pie spices and cooked the apples in a pan ahead of time (just trying to save time as I was cooking 9 other things). I did a basket weave top using a crust recipe from this site as well. Everything was just perfect! My new forever apple pie recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waldorf, Maryland, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
FIVE STARS! This pie tasted like my grandmothers and I was almost crying at the first bite! I made this pie for my first ever pie on Thanksgiving for my family in Spain and it was beautiful. I used Ruth's Grandma's pie crust and I was very pleased with the results. This pie was not difficult to make and my family ate it up. I was so happy to make a delish pie from scratch! But yes, be sure to have your pie prepped before pouring the sauce. I made mine with the classic crust on top and before placing it I added the sauce on top of my apples, added the top crust and sealed and then I brushed the top of my pie with an egg wash and then topped it with cinnamon and sugar, baked 45 min at 350 degrees, it was perfectly cooked. :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by belongsinthesky

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
Her name should be ***GRANDMA APPLE***this is an awesome recipe...I just finished a pie five minutes ago...I eat the thing by myself in three days..i eat it for breakfast..heat it up with some vanilla ice cream and some whipped cream..oh my oh my...and I will say this though..hahahahhaa...I had to add some cornstarch to prevent it from being too watery..but that depends on the type of apples you use...ive tried this recipe with granny smiths...red delicious..thats the watery apple and gala apples..i used this recipe for the base of every apple pie I bake...theyre all great..THIS IS THE ONLY RECIPE I USE..AND I DONT EVEN NEED TO LOOK AT IT ANYMORE...I have one suggestion...save a little bit of the sauce in the pan and let it cool..it becomes gooey and yuhuhummy...like candy....well im gonna go slice me up a piece..i would add a photo but the pies gone.....thanks grandma...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 171-180 (of 1,794) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Apple Slab Pie

Apple pie baked in a rectangular pan with a crumble topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States