Grandma Ople's Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 18)
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
My first time making apple pie. Wow! Thank you for helping me be successful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zsuzsa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tiszaujvaros, Borsod-Abaúj-Zemplén, Hungary
Living In: Chagrin Falls, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by schorrp
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
Made this pie in a dutch oven outside last night. It was a huge success and everyone loved it. Only change I made to the recipe was to add a bit of cinnamon and nutmeg. This one is a real winner!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Plain City, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
This delicious apple pie absolutely must be tried at least once without changing a thing. I know, I know, everyone *knows* that cinnamon is a must in apple pie. It's not. The butter based caramel sauce highlights the tartness of the apples perfectly and simply, without addition of other flavors or complications. Pouring it over the already latticed-top gives a sweet coating to the crust that lends a crunchy contrast to the soft apple filling, as well as making it beautiful when it comes out of the oven. If you use a deep dish pie plate, there is no bubbled over caramel and 8 apples fit exactly. My husband, normally a cinnamon lover, loved the pie as it was, and commented that adding cinnamon would probably detract. My only regret in making this pie is that I forgot to take a picture before serving it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
I have made this pie for Thanksgiving almost ten years in a row to great compliments and requests. It is my go-to recipe for apple pie. So delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
This is the best apple pie ever! It really helped to watch the video on making the lattice pie crust. The third time I made with some chopped pecans and it was even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
I really enjoyed making this pie and it turned out really well and it was pretty easy to make. But, I definitely took pointers from all these helpful reviews!! The original recipe calls for a lot of apples, I used about 4 large Granny Smith apples (or 5 med-to-large apples). The sauce was incredibly easy to make and it looked silky smooth and tasted wonderful. I did pour the sauce on the apples prior to putting the apples in the pie crust (mix first in a bowl). I guess the best tip I could possibly give this awesome recipe is to have the pie crust ready to fill and the apples completely prepped while making the sauce. Otherwise, the sauce will lose it's consistency and won't bind with apples as well. Also, give the lattice pie crust a try! It was incredibly easy to make (much easier than it looks) and gives the pie a nice presentation. My family and friends enjoyed the pie very much and thought it was from a bakery, not my own kitchen. I've since made it once again and the second time is a breeze! This really is a timeless recipe, thank you for sharing and thanks for all the tips everyone posted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2013
5+++++++ Pouring the "caramel" over the top but it was SOOOOOOOO worth it!!! This is THE best applets I have ever tasted. We went apple picking with some friends and decided to have an "Apple Pie Party". I made about 5 different apple pie recipes and this one was the winner by far!!! Everyone loved it and asked for the recipe. UPDATE: made this again in miniature version using muffin tin. They were soooo delicious. Mmmmmmmmm!!!! Thank you, thank you, thank you Grandma Ople!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
This has been my go to apple pie recipe for several years now. I do add cinnamon to the sauce and some vanilla after the sauce has come off the heat. I also usually make a two crust pie and pour all the sauce over the apples before I put on the top crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
Made this for my husband for fathers day. Delicious! The only change I made is to add a little cinnamon to the mixture. Remember to do the sugar mixture last so it is hot when you pour it over the crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
The nine millionth review for this recipe! Oh well. It really is very good. I added just a bit of vanilla to the sauce, and used apples I'd cut and frozen last fall (I have no idea what kind, but they were red). I used all my butter in the crust and had to use margarine for the sauce, which definitely made it not quite as good as it would have been, but I also think next time I might use slightly less white sugar and slightly more brown, to add to the caramel flavor. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Paltz, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 171-180 (of 1,729) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Apple Slab Pie

Apple pie baked in a rectangular pan with a crumble topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States