Grandma Ople's Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Photo by AVM
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
Easy to follow. Tastes great. I am now comfortable with doing a lattice top. Love the idea of caramelizing the sugar first. And, lastly, people think I really can bake -- mission accomplished, I guess! :) I went ahead and added a little flour (couple table spoons) and cinnamon (teaspoon) to the apples (only 5 large granny smith apples). One of three times I also added some vanilla (don't remember how much, maybe 1/2 tsp) to the apple mixture... I don't even know if that's something anyone would do...! Oh, and I basted the bottom crust with egg. The only thing I'll say is the variations worked out great. But don't follow my adjustments before reading others', I am seriously amateur. Read other people's adjustments if you are looking for a variation to the recipe as-written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
This recipe is such a huge hit with my family. I made it on Thanksgiving, and it was so good, my little sister demanded I make it for Hanukkah two weeks later! I stray slightly from the original recipe: I make my own pie dough (2 batches), brush the top cruse of the pie with an egg wash, use anywhere from 5-9 granny smith apples depending on the size of them, and I add healthy doses of vanilla extract and pumpkin pie spice to the caramel sauce mixture. Allowing the sauce to simmer on the stove allows the flavor of the sauce to develop. I also recommend allowing it to cool for several hours, and then warming it up when sliced so the juices have time to soak back into the pie. Using homemade dough makes this recipe a little more time-consuming, but it is truly worth it. This is a pie that those who try it won't soon forget.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Warrenton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
O my this pie is AMAZING! I have never made a pie from scratch before and it turned out absolutely perfect! I did make a few changes along the way but nothing major. Still followed the recipe exactly. As I was making it and cutting up the apples i noticed at 4 apples it was almost overflowing so I stoppped there. (no biggie) then i love the criss cross top on a pie but I also LOVE a crumbled topping. So what I did after following this recipe exactly, was take 1 cup of brown sugar, 1 cup of all-purpose flour, and 1/4 cup butter, diced very small and I put it in a bowl. I took my hand mixer and mixed it together. I then sprinkled this over the pie and just like that I went to heaven eating it after. It was so good and gone so fast, my fam asked me to make it again. THAT SAME WEEK! HIT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
With the suggestions from other bakers it made one incredible pie! I added 1 tsp of cinnamon, 1/2 tsp of nutmeg, 1 tbsp of vanilla (minus 1 tbsp of water) , substituted 1 tsbp of flour for cornstatch and 6 red delicious apples. Definitely cut the lattice ahead of time and chill in fridge or freezer while you make the rest. I also soaked all the apples in the mixture before pouring into the crust then made another 1/2 batch of the mixture for the topping. When the pie had 20 min left, I then poured it over the top for a nice Carmelized lattice. I cooked it for 50 min at 350. This pie was a huge hit!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
This recipe was so amazing! I couldn't believe there was no nutmeg or cinnamon...totally not needed! Crowd favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by blondie1024
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
Dont change a thing!! It was DELISH!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Blanchard, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
Amazing recipe! I love how the liquid caramelizes on the crust. I do add vanilla and cinnamon to mine, and it tastes amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
BEST. PIE. EVER. All I can say is: read the reviews, use the French Pastry Pie Crust recipe with it and prepare yourself for the best apple pie you've EVER had. Perfect crust. Perfectly cooked apples. Caramel sauce to die for. Flavor and texture that's beyond yum... it's OMYGOD level. This is a contest worthy pie. Try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sophie Zimmermann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by eatcookdream
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
This was the first pie I've ever made (I'm an experienced baker in other areas though) and it was delicious. I cut back on the sugar since I didn't want it to be overwhelmingly sweet, but otherwise I followed the recipe. Ended up using 6 apples (3 Granny Smith, 3 Red Delicious) and a 9" glass pie dish. I tossed the apples with all the caramel before putting them in the pie b/c I didn't do a lattice top (just brushed the top crust with heavy cream). I used Martha Stewart's Basic Pie Dough recipe for the crust. Definitely put it on a cookie sheet in the oven b/c it WILL bubble over. Everyone loved it at Thanksgiving. Will make it again next year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eatcookdream

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
This is my second year of making this pie for Thanksgiving. My daughter, who is the "Apple Anything Expert" said this was the BEST apple pie she had ever eaten, while eating a piece before getting on a plane to her next Thanksgiving meal... I did add 1/2 t of cinnamon to the mixture on the stove and yes, you can never let the mixture cool before placing it onto the crust. Delicious...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vestal, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 161-170 (of 1,683) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States