Grandma Ople's Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Photo by tracyljohnson
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
This is definitely the best apple pie I have ever made. I've made this several times and the only change I decided to make was to mix a little cinnamin in directly with the apples (not the sauce). I found that pouring about 3/4 of the sauce on the pie before putting the lattice crust on and then pouring the remaining on and through the lattice is easier. I needed to bake the pie for 10 mins longer then the recipe called for as I really pack in a lot of apples to make a large pie. Everyone thoroughly enjoys this pie and it's better than any bakery or orchard made pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
I have baked apple pie for years and this was the best I ever made. It was also my first attempt at a lattice top and it was much easier than I thought. This will now be my go to apple pie recipe. I did add some cinnamon to the apples before putting the crust on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
I really love this pie recipe, although if you like some extra flavor you should add some cinnamon. It's the perfect combination. It tastes fresh, it is crunchy, and it is unbelievably easy to make. Grandma Ople's Apple pie is definately a have to
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
I made this pie for Thanksgiving and it was incredible -- by far the best apple pie I've had! This pie looks and tastes like it's difficult to make, but its not (I didn't share that with my family though!).. This is now my #1 go-to pie recipe. The only change I made was adding cinnamon to the apples, which I felt added needed flavor. I also made a pie crust with a bit of crunchy sugar in it, and rolled the dough out a bit thicker than normal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
The pie was fantastic and very easy to bake. the only problem was that the filling was extremely runny even after i added cornstarch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
I have now made this pie many times just as the recipe says, and it is fabulous! My boyfried can not have it often enough! It is very true that the pie does not need cinnamon in it at all. The pie turns out evenly cooked, with a delicous caramlized crust. The apples are cooked to perfection, not too mushy and not too crunchy. This pie is truly a way to a mans heart! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
mine turned out with a little more liquid than i would like. i will probably reduce the sauce mixture by 1/3.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AVM
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
Easy to follow. Tastes great. I am now comfortable with doing a lattice top. Love the idea of caramelizing the sugar first. And, lastly, people think I really can bake -- mission accomplished, I guess! :) I went ahead and added a little flour (couple table spoons) and cinnamon (teaspoon) to the apples (only 5 large granny smith apples). One of three times I also added some vanilla (don't remember how much, maybe 1/2 tsp) to the apple mixture... I don't even know if that's something anyone would do...! Oh, and I basted the bottom crust with egg. The only thing I'll say is the variations worked out great. But don't follow my adjustments before reading others', I am seriously amateur. Read other people's adjustments if you are looking for a variation to the recipe as-written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
This recipe is such a huge hit with my family. I made it on Thanksgiving, and it was so good, my little sister demanded I make it for Hanukkah two weeks later! I stray slightly from the original recipe: I make my own pie dough (2 batches), brush the top cruse of the pie with an egg wash, use anywhere from 5-9 granny smith apples depending on the size of them, and I add healthy doses of vanilla extract and pumpkin pie spice to the caramel sauce mixture. Allowing the sauce to simmer on the stove allows the flavor of the sauce to develop. I also recommend allowing it to cool for several hours, and then warming it up when sliced so the juices have time to soak back into the pie. Using homemade dough makes this recipe a little more time-consuming, but it is truly worth it. This is a pie that those who try it won't soon forget.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Warrenton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
O my this pie is AMAZING! I have never made a pie from scratch before and it turned out absolutely perfect! I did make a few changes along the way but nothing major. Still followed the recipe exactly. As I was making it and cutting up the apples i noticed at 4 apples it was almost overflowing so I stoppped there. (no biggie) then i love the criss cross top on a pie but I also LOVE a crumbled topping. So what I did after following this recipe exactly, was take 1 cup of brown sugar, 1 cup of all-purpose flour, and 1/4 cup butter, diced very small and I put it in a bowl. I took my hand mixer and mixed it together. I then sprinkled this over the pie and just like that I went to heaven eating it after. It was so good and gone so fast, my fam asked me to make it again. THAT SAME WEEK! HIT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 1,681) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States