Grandma Ople's Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Photo by Lucky Noodles
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
No changes to this classic except a touch of nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucky Noodles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hanover, Indiana, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
I have made this pie several times over the last few years. I found it a bit tart the first time so I have since changed the apples since we don't like granny smith's all that much. I use 3 Braeburn and 3 Fuji and I do add cinnamon to the apple slices and toss it around a bit. I also don't always do the lattice crust. I sometimes make a hole in the center and some designs to get the sugar mixture to flow right in. Once I used this recipe, and everyone loved it, I have never used another.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by savvywife
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
Super easy to make and everyone loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
I tried this pie for a family dinner and everyone liked it but I did not find it sweet enough. It tasted kind of bland to me like I was missing something or maybe need to increase the brown sugar. It was good though and would recommend it but needs adjustments according to your liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
I haven't made apple pie in a number of years, so I went to the computer for a refresher. This turned out to be the best apple pie I have made as far as I can remember. Simple, yet delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
I've made this pie twice and both times it's gone immediately!! I have celiacs so the only change I've made is to use gluten free flour and gluten free pie shells. I also mix the cinnamon with the apples. Everyone loves it. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
This is my go-to apple pie recipe that I have served at the past three thanksgivings. This past year was the best one yet. I used 6 granny smith apples and two Gala apples. The pie melded together perfectly, creating a moist and delicious dessert. Best apple pie recipe around!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
this was a huge hit at my house! everyone loved it and it has quickly become a tradition in the house
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Strickland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
The best!!! Simple and amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
This pie is always a hit no matter who I serve it to. It's my go-to apple pie recipe. I've been asked for the recipe many times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 1,795) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Apple Slab Pie

Apple pie baked in a rectangular pan with a crumble topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States