Grandma Ople's Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
I am so proud that I made a successful apple pie using this recipe. This is my husband's favorite dessert, and I had all but given up after several tries over the years, I had decided I was not a pie maker. However, I made this one; only change: apple juice in place of water, 1/2 tsp cinnamon, and a solid crust instead of lattice. Voila! Perfect and delicious. I enjoyed the entire experience, and hubby is still enjoying the pie. Good thing we had French Vanilla ice cream in the freezer to top it off! Thank you for posting this recipe. Next I will try my hand with a lattice crust. Did Grandma Ople have a peach pie recipe, by any chance? Because that is my favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
OK,, super easy and unbelievable ! Made this last nite and we couldn't even wait till it cooled down to taste it because the smell was making our mouths water,, I did toss the apples with a drop of cinnamon only cause I love it but I don't think it even needed it once it was done and we ate it,, the sugar mixture is definitely what makes it,, my first pie I made and I won't even look for a different recipe. This is definitely the one to use,,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
This is hands down the best apple pie I've ever made and maybe ever eaten! My hubby isn't a big apple pie eater and he LOVED this one! I've used it for several years now, and it's the only apple pie recipe I use now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lucky Noodles
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
No changes to this classic except a touch of nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucky Noodles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hanover, Indiana, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
I have made this pie several times over the last few years. I found it a bit tart the first time so I have since changed the apples since we don't like granny smith's all that much. I use 3 Braeburn and 3 Fuji and I do add cinnamon to the apple slices and toss it around a bit. I also don't always do the lattice crust. I sometimes make a hole in the center and some designs to get the sugar mixture to flow right in. Once I used this recipe, and everyone loved it, I have never used another.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by savvywife
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
Super easy to make and everyone loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
I tried this pie for a family dinner and everyone liked it but I did not find it sweet enough. It tasted kind of bland to me like I was missing something or maybe need to increase the brown sugar. It was good though and would recommend it but needs adjustments according to your liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
I haven't made apple pie in a number of years, so I went to the computer for a refresher. This turned out to be the best apple pie I have made as far as I can remember. Simple, yet delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
I've made this pie twice and both times it's gone immediately!! I have celiacs so the only change I've made is to use gluten free flour and gluten free pie shells. I also mix the cinnamon with the apples. Everyone loves it. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
This is my go-to apple pie recipe that I have served at the past three thanksgivings. This past year was the best one yet. I used 6 granny smith apples and two Gala apples. The pie melded together perfectly, creating a moist and delicious dessert. Best apple pie recipe around!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 1,798) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Apple Slab Pie

Apple pie baked in a rectangular pan with a crumble topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States