Grandma Oma's Pickled Okra Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
I'm a northern gal who loves okra, so was delighted to find this recipe! I didn't have dried chili peppers on hand, so I used a little chili powder instead. The end result tasted every bit as good as the pint I paid $8 for at Silver Dollar City (near Branson, MO)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
Ten stars! I am obsessed with spicy okra and have never made it myself so I was so excited to find this recipe! I added minced garlic and it was superb! The second time I made this, I used the opposite ratio of vinegar to water (2 cups vinegar to one cup water ) and I liked that even more. These only need a week or maybe a little longer to taste delicious. Hubby and I ate a big jar of these in just five days. I was given more fresh okra and also some fresh red peppers (they smelled HOT) so I made another batch of pickled okra last night. We'll see how it turns out shortly :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrieh82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
I didn't change anything and my okra turned out great. I have never tried to pickle anything before, but will definitely add okra to our garden next year and use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leisl Kern

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
Awesome! Great flavor, crispy texture. No slime at all. My husband and 3 yr old both love them, and I like when they eat veggies! I did add a large clove of garlic, ground pepper and onion powder to each jar. We just like garlic, onion and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mount Vernon, Washington, USA
Living In: Big Bend National Park, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
The recipe was easy to follow. I did add garlic and sugar like others have suggested. I also added some mustard seed and used 1/2 white and 1/2 cider vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
I made these. I also added a clove of garlic cut up when I put the chili pepper in. Everyone that has tasted these have loved them. Me too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VICKY C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newport News, Virginia, USA
Living In: Cedar Island, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimmy schmidt
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
I had never canned before and this was VERY simple. I did add 1T sugar to offset the bitterness
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristina

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
Great recipe---try these modifications: I made a "pickled garden". I used okra, petite cucumbers, 1/4 of a hot chili pepper, 2 sm garlic cloves, green beans, thinly sliced carrot sticks,slice green peppers, & onion chunks. I used the recipe exactly as stated but added these extra veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick Pickled Jalapeno Rings

Watch Chef John make quick-and-easy pickled peppers.

Quick Pickled Eggs and Beets

This simple Southern snack is a cinch to prepare.

How to Make Pickled Asparagus

See how to turn fresh asparagus into delicious homemade pickles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States