Grandma Oma's Pickled Okra Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2015
AWSOME!!!! Put a jar in refrigerator for my husband to try and when he was done, the jar was EMPTY. So needless to say I will definitely be making these again. Used fresh jalapeño peppers sliced instead because that is what I had and he loved it. Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2015
This is the easiest recipe and turns out so well. No changes needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
Yum, yum, yummy!! I added 2 cloves of garlic. Great recipe for all my over abundance of okra from my garden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GYPSYLADY3200

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plant City, Florida, USA
Living In: Gallatin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
This recipe as written is 3 stars - too basic for my taste, but 5 stars and YUM with my additions! I used a mix of 1/2 apple cider vinegar and 1/2 white vinegar. I added a pinch of white sugar, too. I didn't have full sprigs of dill, only minced dill for cooking, so I mixed this with the vinegar while it was boiling. I doubled the chili peppers and added a garlic clove to the jar of okra before adding the liquid. These were ready to eat after about 3 hours in the fridge. I will definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs Harte

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Henley, Missouri, USA
Living In: Fenton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Melissa Buckler
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
Very good! I made some with peppers and some without. Also added a garlic clove to each jar like other reviewers said they did. They were perfect! So yummy. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Buckler

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
Amazing! My family loves these. This is a very inexpensive way to preserve fresh okra. I had never tried to do anything like this and my very first batch turned out perfectly. I did not add anything to this recipe-It is perfect the way it is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
As it is written, it is fine. I added chopped Garlic and used Dill Paste instead of the dried Dill, some black peppercorns as well. Great Recipe! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mtgraham2

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Jacksonville, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
First time ever trying to pickle okra, and SUCCESS!! I read the reviews and added a clove of garlic to each jar, and split the vinegar, 1/2 white and 1/2 cider with 2 tbsp. balsamic...LOVE it, and so does my husband/local expert. THANK YOU for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ddtmom

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2013
This is an easy recipe and the best tasting pickled okra I've ever made. A pint jar disappears in 2 minutes or less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hutto, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2013
I made these 2 weeks ago. I used fresh dill since I didn't have any dried, I put one small head per pint. They are absolutely wonderful. I have never had pickled okra before, but I will be making several more pints of these
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick Pickled Eggs and Beets

This simple Southern snack is a cinch to prepare.

Quick Pickled Jalapeno Rings

Watch Chef John make quick-and-easy pickled peppers.

How to Make Pickled Asparagus

See how to turn fresh asparagus into delicious homemade pickles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States