Grandma Oma's Pickled Okra Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2004
These were easy and fast and a great way to save summer okra. The only thing I did differently was add one whole clove of garlic but they came out fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
247 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CAJUNSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Geneva, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2006
My boyfriend, a Louisiana boy, loved these, but said he would have preferred them without the red pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
127 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Beth

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
I didn't bother with the hot water bath as I knew they wouldn't last very long. I just put them in sterile mason jars. I think the recipe needs to be a little more specific about what vinegar to use. I used a combination of white distilled (for the twang), apple cider (for the mellowness) and white balsamic (LOVE the flavor). I think you need to play around with it until you find the particular flavor that you like. I would still probably just buy my regular jarred pickled okra, but this was a fun thing to try for a change. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
111 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
I've canned this recipe twice, last fall and again early this summer when there was plenty of fresh tender young okra available. Many people don't know, but okra is excellent for the digestive system. 'this recipe is fantastic garnish to a hearty winter meal of greens, beans, jambalaya, or your favorite stew. I have only one suggestion, which came from my aunt, to add a level teaspoon of sugar (or less if you prefer) to each packed jar before adding the hot vinegar mixture. This doesn't change the pickled or spicy flavor to sweet but just mellows the exciting flavor. Interestingly, people who say they generally don't like okra, love these pickled treats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2008
This is great and oh, so easy! I liked the added garlic clove to the jar. I didn't have dried red pepper on hand, so I added 1 tsp red pepper flakes to each jar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2004
I absolutely love pickled okra and these came out perfectly! Maybe my jars were a little too large, but I found that this recipe was only good for two jars instead of three, but it's so easy to make, it was no real problem to adjust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
We loved this recipe. It turned out great. We added some garlic cloves and sliced jalepanos instead of dried red pepper flakes. Will definitely make again and again and again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2008
Someone from church gave us some Okra and I had never eaten okra in my life. I went searching for a creative way to use it that my kids might also eat. This is it!!! The recipe is super quick and easy, even for novice canners. I did not add the peppers and put one galic clove in each jar. My two year old can not eat them fast enough. Who knew Okra could taste so good? You have got to try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
My original recipe calls for the vinegar to be 1/2c white, 1/2c apple cider. I also us dill seed instead of dill flake. Then directly in each jar goes 1/2 tsp. red pepper flakes, 1 garlic clove and 1 tsp-1tbsp sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2003
well the flavor was ok but oh tooo mushy!! It was proubly something I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie Bossa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hennessey, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: El Reno, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Quick Pickled Eggs and Beets

This simple Southern snack is a cinch to prepare.

Quick Pickled Jalapeno Rings

Watch Chef John make quick-and-easy pickled peppers.

How to Make Pickled Asparagus

See how to turn fresh asparagus into delicious homemade pickles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States