Grandma Oma's Pickled Okra Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
Super easy to make with the surplus of okra from our garden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bryan, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
I've canned this recipe twice, last fall and again early this summer when there was plenty of fresh tender young okra available. Many people don't know, but okra is excellent for the digestive system. 'this recipe is fantastic garnish to a hearty winter meal of greens, beans, jambalaya, or your favorite stew. I have only one suggestion, which came from my aunt, to add a level teaspoon of sugar (or less if you prefer) to each packed jar before adding the hot vinegar mixture. This doesn't change the pickled or spicy flavor to sweet but just mellows the exciting flavor. Interestingly, people who say they generally don't like okra, love these pickled treats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
We loved this recipe. It turned out great. We added some garlic cloves and sliced jalepanos instead of dried red pepper flakes. Will definitely make again and again and again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2008
Someone from church gave us some Okra and I had never eaten okra in my life. I went searching for a creative way to use it that my kids might also eat. This is it!!! The recipe is super quick and easy, even for novice canners. I did not add the peppers and put one galic clove in each jar. My two year old can not eat them fast enough. Who knew Okra could taste so good? You have got to try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2008
This is a great recipe! It is easy and the results are wonderful! Thank you for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toccoa, Georgia, USA
Living In: Alto, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
My 12 year old son loves these. He said they were as good as the ones you buy at the store. High praise from a 12 year old!!! Great recipe and very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilson, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2008
This is great and oh, so easy! I liked the added garlic clove to the jar. I didn't have dried red pepper on hand, so I added 1 tsp red pepper flakes to each jar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MARYMAYBE
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2008
Thank you Grandma Oma!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARYMAYBE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garland, Texas, USA
Living In: Rowlett, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
I didn't bother with the hot water bath as I knew they wouldn't last very long. I just put them in sterile mason jars. I think the recipe needs to be a little more specific about what vinegar to use. I used a combination of white distilled (for the twang), apple cider (for the mellowness) and white balsamic (LOVE the flavor). I think you need to play around with it until you find the particular flavor that you like. I would still probably just buy my regular jarred pickled okra, but this was a fun thing to try for a change. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
I'm not sure that i would recommend this recipe to others... i may have done it wrong but i found it to have too much of a vinager taste instead of a the taste that most have...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick Pickled Jalapeno Rings

Watch Chef John make quick-and-easy pickled peppers.

Quick Pickled Eggs and Beets

This simple Southern snack is a cinch to prepare.

How to Make Pickled Asparagus

See how to turn fresh asparagus into delicious homemade pickles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States