Grandma Oma's Pickled Okra Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimmy schmidt
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
I had never canned before and this was VERY simple. I did add 1T sugar to offset the bitterness
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristina

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
Great recipe---try these modifications: I made a "pickled garden". I used okra, petite cucumbers, 1/4 of a hot chili pepper, 2 sm garlic cloves, green beans, thinly sliced carrot sticks,slice green peppers, & onion chunks. I used the recipe exactly as stated but added these extra veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
I always get rave reviews for this pickled okra. My daughter has taken it to work and her co-workers fight over it! I use dill seed instead of dried dill and add 1/2 tsp of minced garlic to each jar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
Super easy to make with the surplus of okra from our garden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bryan, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
I've canned this recipe twice, last fall and again early this summer when there was plenty of fresh tender young okra available. Many people don't know, but okra is excellent for the digestive system. 'this recipe is fantastic garnish to a hearty winter meal of greens, beans, jambalaya, or your favorite stew. I have only one suggestion, which came from my aunt, to add a level teaspoon of sugar (or less if you prefer) to each packed jar before adding the hot vinegar mixture. This doesn't change the pickled or spicy flavor to sweet but just mellows the exciting flavor. Interestingly, people who say they generally don't like okra, love these pickled treats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
We loved this recipe. It turned out great. We added some garlic cloves and sliced jalepanos instead of dried red pepper flakes. Will definitely make again and again and again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2008
Someone from church gave us some Okra and I had never eaten okra in my life. I went searching for a creative way to use it that my kids might also eat. This is it!!! The recipe is super quick and easy, even for novice canners. I did not add the peppers and put one galic clove in each jar. My two year old can not eat them fast enough. Who knew Okra could taste so good? You have got to try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2008
This is a great recipe! It is easy and the results are wonderful! Thank you for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toccoa, Georgia, USA
Living In: Alto, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
My 12 year old son loves these. He said they were as good as the ones you buy at the store. High praise from a 12 year old!!! Great recipe and very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilson, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick Pickled Eggs and Beets

This simple Southern snack is a cinch to prepare.

Quick Pickled Jalapeno Rings

Watch Chef John make quick-and-easy pickled peppers.

How to Make Pickled Asparagus

See how to turn fresh asparagus into delicious homemade pickles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States