Grandma Oma's Pickled Okra Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
Amazing! My family loves these. This is a very inexpensive way to preserve fresh okra. I had never tried to do anything like this and my very first batch turned out perfectly. I did not add anything to this recipe-It is perfect the way it is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
As it is written, it is fine. I added chopped Garlic and used Dill Paste instead of the dried Dill, some black peppercorns as well. Great Recipe! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mtgraham2

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Jacksonville, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
First time ever trying to pickle okra, and SUCCESS!! I read the reviews and added a clove of garlic to each jar, and split the vinegar, 1/2 white and 1/2 cider with 2 tbsp. balsamic...LOVE it, and so does my husband/local expert. THANK YOU for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2013
This is an easy recipe and the best tasting pickled okra I've ever made. A pint jar disappears in 2 minutes or less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hutto, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2013
I made these 2 weeks ago. I used fresh dill since I didn't have any dried, I put one small head per pint. They are absolutely wonderful. I have never had pickled okra before, but I will be making several more pints of these
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
This were AMAZING!!! I could have eaten the whole jar in one sitting all by myself. I will be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
Excellent! I am new to canning and was very pleasantly surprised by how easy these were and how tasty they were. I've been making several batches as our okra crop produces! Definitely will be making these for years to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Belton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
Easy to make. I also added garlic cloves to mine along with a little sugar. They are pickling as a I type. Review on taste to come. After sitting in my fridge for three weeks I tried the pickled okra today. OMG Oma! This stuff rocks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
Love this recipe. All my friends who have tasted it have given their approval. I did add a clove of garlic to each jar for a little extra snap.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
Just love these, but I do add one fresh jalapeno pepper to each jar instead of the chili peppers. I put one jalapeno that I have periced in the center of the jar and then I fill jars with okra . I follow the recipe as writtern after that small change. yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick Pickled Jalapeno Rings

Watch Chef John make quick-and-easy pickled peppers.

Quick Pickled Eggs and Beets

This simple Southern snack is a cinch to prepare.

How to Make Pickled Asparagus

See how to turn fresh asparagus into delicious homemade pickles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States