Grandma Moyer's Rhubarb and Strawberry Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
Thank you Grandma Moyer!!! This is the best coffee cake our family has ever eaten! Due to the moisture content of the strawberries, I roasted them on a cookie sheet in the oven at 350 degrees for 20-25 minutes. This removes some of the excess water making the coffee cake not as "soggy" in the middle. Absolutely a delish dessert! I've already made 3 cakes!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bananajoanna
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
This was a little gooey-er than I was expecting, but still delicious. I only had 2 cups of rhubarb left in my garden, so I added a cup of chopped apples. I'm sure cherries or peaches would also have worked, but I liked the apples because they were right in between the rhubarb and the strawberries on the tart-to-sweet spectrum. I also mixed the fruit with lemon juice before folding it into the batter, as another reviewer suggested, and it worked quite well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
this is really good cake. But I have found that the strawberries can be replaced with other fruits too and still is really nice addition to flavor. try cherry's pie filling or raspberries yum yum trying it with blueberries next I like to use fresh of whats in season.... but truely love rhubarb all by it's self too and when doing just rhubarb I have just replace the amount of rhubarb for the other berries you wont be sorry trying this recipe it get's high remarks and request here........
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOANNEH2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2014
Moist and flavorful, a wonderful coffee cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
I was skeptical at first because the recipe didn't call for any butter or oil, but it really didn't need any! After reading other reviews, I added 1 T. of lemon juice to the fruit before folding it into the batter, and that gave it a subtle brightness. Next time I might try substituting pineapple and mandarin oranges for strawberries & rhubarb, perhaps with coconut on top. This is a good basic recipe, thank you for posting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by METG

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
Thank You Thank You Thank You Bobbie for finding this recipe! This was the best Rhubarb Strawberry recipe we have ever tried! Melt in your mouth creamy texture. Perfectly sweat and moist! We will most definitely make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
Very good! I skipped the berries, and used whipped cream on top. I forgot the brown sugar and pecans, but it's still fabulous! A hit at home
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
I thought this would be much tangier than it is. If I make it again, I will replace the strawberries with more rhubarb - and, I will lessen the sugar. Otherwise, a VERY moist cake. A dollop or two of whipped cream helped, by the way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nekoosa, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2013
excellant My 1st time ever eating rhubarb. I will definitely make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2013
I lost my recipe for rhubarb cake. This one is very close & I love the addition of strawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States