Grandma Minnie's Old Fashioned Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2003
This is a wonderful recipe - it is now my favorite sugar cookie recipe. Make sure you do not use electric beaters to mix in vanilla, egg and cream - do it by hand. I ruined my first batch with the electric beaters - the dough was too sticky and soft, even after chilling for hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
153 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2003
THE BEST EVER! More like 8 stars! Will never bake any other sugar cookie but THESE and I know my sugar cookies! Ok... because I AM the Queen of taking short cuts (and always in a hurry) here's my take on these! I mixed the dry ingredients in my Kitchen Aide. Blended the softened butter in with the mixer too. Added all other ingreds the way suggested... except... I hand rolled balls of the dough up and put them on a four dusted surface. I rolled them over just to get a dust of flour on them. I took a glass (bottom LIGHTLY dusted in flour) and just squished them flat! I picked them up with a spatula, brushed off any excess flour, put them onto the baking sheet. I baked them for about 10 min, but I watched them close after 8 min. While they were still warm I glazed them with the glaze from "Glazed Apple Cream Pie" (allrecipes.com), and put the traditional holiday sprinkles on them! FAST.... EASY..... AND OHHHHH SO GOOD! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
107 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dung Beetle

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2005
This recipe is the real deal! I just finished making them with my 21 month old son and we've almost "tested" about 1/4 of the batch! We didn't have cream so I just used whole milk in it's place and it worked just fine and I also increased the vanilla to 2 tsp, but that's a personal preference. Next time I will use cream and I'm sure it will be even better. My son loves to roll dough and cut shapes and this dough was very easy for him to work with. I did chill the dough but I felt it was slightly easier to work with once it was room temperature again. I didn't find this dough to be too dry at all as some reviewers mentioned. I do lightly spoon the flour into a measuring cup rather than dip the measuring cup into the flour which may make a difference in how much flour is used. I also creamed the butter and sugar together as recommended by another reviewer. Thanks for sharing this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2001
These cookies are like my Great grandmother's recipe. Because they are like pie, they roll out easily. I had no problem with sticky dough at all. They cook quick, so watch out you don't burn them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2005
A lot of the reviews state that the dough is too dry. It's perfect without adding any additional liquid. You have to give the butter a chance to "melt" after you cut it in. At first I thought it was too dry, so I got my clean hands in there and kind of kneaded the dough. The heat from my hands melted the butter and in a few minutes, it was the perfect consistency. Perfect. Do not add additional cream or anything. Trust me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2005
Like so many in the previous ratings, I had also searched and searched for a good sugar cookie recipe that I could use for cut-outs, only to be disappointed time and again. My search is over! My son & I just made these, but we didn't make cut-outs. We rolled them into balls then pressed them with a slotted spatula. (The cookies have raised bars going across them. Cute!) They don't spread at all when baking which tells me they'll be superb for cut-outs. (I can't wait 'til Christmas!!) Super easy to make and work with. Light, slightly crisp, melt-in-your-mouth, delicious. Like others, I thought the dough was a bit dry but I didn't add more liquid. As we worked with it, it came together beautifully. Thanks, Jessica, for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2003
This is the best sugar cookie recipe I have ever made. These cookies were everything a sugar cookie should be- perfectly delectible. I made these right in the KitchenAid, not with the pastry blender- and they were perfect. They didn't stick at all; the dough was such a pleasure to work with. My 2-year-old was able to cut them out with me. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2002
This is a good recipe for classic sugar cookies. But keep an eye on the oven, because they burn easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2002
very good cookie. These cookies were moist and not hard to roll out. Not sticky like other sugar cookies I have tried. I also tried a different variation by useing 1/2 a cup of coca and a 1/2 less flour and made a chocolate sugar cookie and it worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2002
This was a very easy and yummy recipe. I liked the fact that it was not necessary to chill the cookie dough, as I had only limited time to make cookies. I made star shapes and iced them with brightly coloured icing (red, green, blue and yellow) and put edible silver balls on the tip of each star point. They looked very festive for Christmas and went in a flash at the morning tea I took them to (lots of kids there!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 236) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States