Grandma Minnie's Old Fashioned Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
THE BEST SUGAR COOKIES EVER!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
Great recipe! I didn't have cream so just used skim milk and they turned out fine. Not an overly sweet cookie. Great for rolling for cutout cookies. After adding all the ingredients as instructed, I just worked the dough with my hands which worked pretty good before rolling it out. Baked them for 6 minutes. Next time I'll try adding Almond extract for more taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
The best sugar cookies I have ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
Ok-I changed my mind- THIS is the best sugar cookie recipe! The dough was SO easy to work with- even after being in the freezer- they kept their shape while baking, and even the plain ones were so pretty because they came out a perfect light color-no overdone brown cookies. AND they were delicious! I don't like sugar cookies that much and I couldn't stop eating them. I made them with Butter Icing for Cookies from this site and tinted it red & green-perfection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
One of the best cut out sugar cookie recipe ever! I creamed the sugar and "wet ingredients" in my Kitchen Aid and then used the hook to fold in and mix the flour, salt, and baking powder. I then chilled for a couple hours and the dough was perfect for rolling out and cutting! Couldn't have been any easier to work with and the family loved the finished product.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Spring Hill, Kansas, USA
Living In: Prairie Village, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
I followed this recipe to the letter and got absolutely perfect cookies. The recipe, if you make it exactly as stated, makes a dough that is the perfect consistency for rolling out. It was neither too wet or too dry -- it was pliable (like Play-Doh) but not at all sticky. I rolled the dough out with a flour-dusted rolling pin, dusted to surface with sugar and got the kids in to help me cut out the Christmas shapes. The finished cookie is delicious; a little on the "cake-y" side even when rolled out to 1/8-inch but with a lovely crisp bottom. Be sure to watch them carefully and don't overcook. I cooked each batch for about 6 minutes (7 minutes was a tiny bit too long for medium-sized cookie shapes). We decorated them with coloured icing and the taste was perfect - the dough itself is not too sweet, so the icing-sugar glaze was a good complement. Overall, an excellent recipe. I'm saving it on my computer, printing it out for my cookbook, and emailing it to myself so I will never lose it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
After realizing I needed to mix the final dough for several minutes for it to become dough, these were very simple to make. They have a wonderful flavor. I rolled them out a little thicker because I like a thick cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gunnison, Utah, USA
Living In: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
If you are looking for a cookie that tastes like sugar, these are NOT for you. They taste more like shortbread. I followed the recipe exactly and these came out better than I could have hoped for. You will be tempted to add additional liquids as the dough is very dry....DON'T DO IT! The trick is to work the dough with your hands allowing the butter to melt slightly. I worked the dough for a bit in the bowl then took out baseball size balls of dough to work on a floured surface. After a few minutes it was perfect. Like others have said, watch them carefully in the oven as they can go from brown to burnt very quickly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
Wonderful taste, texture and time! These were great for cutouts, were quick to make and easy to decorate. They taste great as well. This is our only sugar cookie recipe now. Take note though- we don't get anywhere near 6 dozen cookies. If we were doing small circle cooies, maybe 3 dozen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
This is a really good recipe. The mixture ends up very dry, so I added 1 tsp almond extract and then slowly added half & half (my "cream" substitue) until it was the consistency I wanted. Not a super sweet cookie, which I like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 236) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States