Grandma McAndrews' Irish Soda Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
Grandma McAndrew sure had it right - I just had a slice of this soda bread and its absolutely perfect!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
This is easy to make and tastes good--my first time making Irish soda bread. I chose this recipe because it fits my idea of authentic Irish soda bread, including raisins & buttermilk but not sour cream. I rate it a 4 (rather than 5) only because it's the first soda bread recipe I've tried, so I don't have a lot to which I can compare it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
was a little doughy according to the original recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
Oh My Gosh, this Irish Soda Bread recipe is one of the best I've tasted! And so easy to boot! Thank you, Grandma McAndrew, and to Sheila for having the patience to figure it out! I made mine without raisins (my family is raisin-phobic), so I increased the sugar by a quarter cup to make up for the missing sweetness. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
Super easy and absolutely delicious. I meant to add caraway seeds, but I forgot... I think they'd add a nice layer of flavor though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nancy from WA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
Being St. Paddy's day tomorrow, I wanted to make something Irish. Decided to make this since it looked easy. I used what I had and did some subsitutions. Used half & half with 1 tablespoon of vinegar, canola oil, and craisins. I did have to bake it for 45 minutes in my gas oven. I have never tasted Irish bread or made it before, but this tastes great! It looks like an scone on steriods but not as dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
I have made alot of Irish Soda Bread in my day. I usually use Katie Reilly's mix, but forgot to order it in time for our annual St. Patrick's Day meal so. . . this is why I tried this recipe. This is quite a good recipe. I do still prefer Katie Reilly's as I like my soda bread a bit sweeter than this one came out. But I must say that of ALL the from-scratch recipes I've baked, this one is the best by far!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
I have never made Irish Soda Bread before but this recipe is definitely not going to wait for the next St Patrick's Day! It's an excellent recipe! I didn't have any buttermilk so I made my own by adding a couple of tablespoons of lemon juice to the milk and letting it sit for 5 mins. before using it. Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
Hubs doesn't like quick breads of any kind, Mom and I were unsure of the raisins. Didn't look like this bread was going to make any kind of statement at tonight's St. Patrick's Day meal. I had low expectations, frankly. Wrong! Everyone loved it! (me too!) Other than using vegetable oil rather than corn oil, I prepared it as directed, then dusted the loaf with a little flour before it went it into the oven. I find it incredible that something so impressive both in appearance and taste comes together so easily and quickly and with such humble ingredients. It's really a foolproof recipe. I baked it on parchment paper, and in my oven at least, 35 minutes was just right. It's just a beautiful bread that is moist (because of the buttermilk I have no doubt!), tender and flavorful. Don't be tempted to leave out the raisins as I almost did - they really do add something in a positive way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
134 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
I used softened butter instead of the oil and plumped the raisins in a sauce pan with butter before adding them to the flour mixture. I did this "before adding the liquid mix". I find mixing the raisins in the dry ingredients easier than in the dough. I needed to add 10 minutes to the time to complete cooking, but the bread came out very well. It went well with the Corned Beef and Potatoes for St. Patrick's Day evening meal. Have Fun!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hal Ross

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Tustin, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States