Grandma McAndrews' Irish Soda Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
This is an authentic recipe and matches my nana's recipe right from Ireland. The only thing is Molly McGee (my nana) would add a tablespoon of caraway seed but made sure others would be OK with it before adding the seed. I like it because it gives it a slight rye type flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
Excellent taste! Mine turned out a bit dry, so 4 stars instead of 5, but Hubs loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Table for Two

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
People went crazy for this easy bread at my St Patrick's Day party. My brother-in-law proclaimed me the "best baker ever." What more can you ask? Didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
Made this ALMOST to the "T" as written. I didn't have any butter milk so I curdled 2% with some vinegar. Other than that, no changes. I made mine into one large boule and baked for about 40+ minutes. Made two for a St. Patrick's day party. Great reviews from the guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Royall

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Keaau, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
Good recipe but hubby gives it only three stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
After 5 years of searching for the ultimate Irish Soda bread, this recipe is the winner. I use half regular raisins and half golden raisins. The only other change is the oil: I used 2 TBS canola oil and 3 TBS applesauce to reduce the fat...no noticeable difference. Everyone at work LOVED this. Thanks to your late gramma for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shortcut
Home Town: Lockport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
I have tried different Irish soda bread recipes only to be disappointed in the past but this one is so good I might end my journey to find the best Irish soda bread recipe now if I can stop being curious :) I followed the recipe exactly but used currants instead of raisins which shouldn't have changed the end result at all. It's a big keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
Wow - our first time making Irish Soda Bread, and it was a huge hit! It came out perfectly and was delicious hot out of the oven with real butter and jam. I'm not a lover of raisins in my baked goods, but did not mind them at all. Since every guest and family member loved it, it will be our new St. Patty's Day tradition :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie J

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
I made this for St Patty's Day and it was delicious! I halved the recipe because it was only for me and hubby and it was still a good sized loaf. I baked it for 25 mins and it was done perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hmillard22

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kerman, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
Great recipe and so easy and quick! Was a great hit with our family Sunday lunch. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States