Grandma McAndrews' Irish Soda Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Sheila T
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
MANDIAPPAN, this is my recipe and I apologize that I just now saw your review about how wet the dough was. You need to add flour your countertop or board or whatever you're using to shape the dough into a ball and also have your hands covered in flour. It really sounds like you didn't have enough flour. I hope you try the recipe again and it works out better for you! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheila T

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Levittown, New York, USA
Living In: Wakefield, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
Fast, easy and delicious! It is a bit messy though - the dough is wetter than I expected, which sticks to the counter a lot. Baked in 40 mins. I used 1/3 c. sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
First Irish Soda Bread.. super easy and best of all QUICK to put together, I didn't change a thing. Baked it a little longer than what was called for which was odd because my oven usually runs hot, but made 2 loaves in a weekend and both came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
This tasted exactly like my Grandmother's recipe. I was looking for something authentic and so many other "soda breads" on this site were too sweet. This is perfect. The raisins add just enough sweetness and the bread is crumbly but not too dry. I made a double batch and baked two loaves in oiled metal cake pans. I think next time I will make multiple smaller loaves because it took so long for the inside to finish baking that all the raisins on the top were burnt. Only thing I did differently was used vegetable oil instead of corn oil, and used golden raisins (plumped them in hot water before adding). This is so yummy toasted with butter!! Thank you, Sheila, for a fantastic recipe! This will be made much more than once a year in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
I took this to my sister's traditional St. Patrick's Day lunch. It was a big hit. It was gone by the end of the meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
Happy St. Patrick's Day! This was a perfect loaf of Irish Soda Bread! Did not change a thing. It looked like an artisan bread when it came out of the oven. Crisp brown crust and moist, slightly sweet interior. My wife and kids loved it. Tastes great with a little butter and was a great accompaniment to the corned beef and cabbage this evening. I will definitely make this again. Thank you for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
I made this for the first time for our family's St. Patrick's Day dinner. It was a huge hit! I made a few changes: I didn't have raisins so I added 1/4 cup honey to the liquid ingredients, and used only 1/8 cup oil to offset the extra liquid from the honey. I used light olive oil instead of vegetable oil as well. It was light, slightly sweet, and had a great texture. We will be having this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
Just finished making two loaves of this bread and after years of trying different soda bread recipes that I didn't like, this one is by far the best. Only changes I made was to soak the raisins in 1/4 cup Jameson's Irish Whiskey and 14 cup water for about 4 hours I used 3 cups all-purpose flour and 1 cup white whole wheat flour. The results are the best -- I'll keep this recipe forever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
Yummy!! And soooo easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
I have tried many Irish Soda Bread recipes and this one is the BEST one I've made. My whole family loves it! My great-grandma McGuiden would be proud!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Chef John's Irish Soda Bread

Classic recipe for an Irish quick bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States