Grandma McAndrews' Irish Soda Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2015
I followed this recipe as is and it was delicious. The only thing different I did was split the dough in half and put them in two separate round cake pans, dusted them with some flour before baking and it came out beautiful! For those who like caraway seeds I would add a teaspoon or two or more to your liking.. This will be my to go Irish soda bread recipe from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2015
So easy and so good. Happy St. Patrick's Day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by boomer1124
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
I have been making this recipe for a few years now. Each year it just gets better. I did cook it on a stone this time around and up the time to 50-60 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by boomer1124

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Brookfield, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rudy B
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
I've never made or had Soda Bread before in my life. Decided to make it for my future sis in law, She absolutely loves Irish Soda bread. Well She loved this one. Said it was soooo much better than store made. Thank you! ! ! P.S. For my first bread I loved it myself =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rudy B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Windsor, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
Excellent!! Moist and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea Losurdo Cassidy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2014
This turned out well enough. Can't really fault it in anyway. We just apparently aren't Irish Soda Bread enthusiast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mamu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: El Cajon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
What a simple recipe . You will have everything you need in you cupboard . I marinated raisins in whiskey and used buttermilk instead of milk. How delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
This is a definite keeper! It's not too sweet, just the right amount of raisins. Perfect served warm with butter. It's crispy on the outside and soft on the inside. I wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by littlemissmuffin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
So simple, and so delicious! I made no changes to the recipe, should have adjusted it to serve two, but we'll eat it again! A little sweet because of the raisins, and just fit with the corned beef recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz Povar
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
I didn't try this recipe, but I Sheila T mentioned the "dark bread served in many restaurants in Ireland" and I have been searching for that recipe for a number of years without any luck. So Sheila T. or anyone else, do you have the recipe for the dark bread served in restaurants? Thanks for helping!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Chef John's Irish Soda Bread

Classic recipe for an Irish quick bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States