Grandma McAndrews' Irish Soda Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Rudy B
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
I've never made or had Soda Bread before in my life. Decided to make it for my future sis in law, She absolutely loves Irish Soda bread. Well She loved this one. Said it was soooo much better than store made. Thank you! ! ! P.S. For my first bread I loved it myself =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rudy B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Windsor, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
Excellent!! Moist and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea Losurdo Cassidy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2014
This turned out well enough. Can't really fault it in anyway. We just apparently aren't Irish Soda Bread enthusiast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mamu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: El Cajon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
What a simple recipe . You will have everything you need in you cupboard . I marinated raisins in whiskey and used buttermilk instead of milk. How delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
This is a definite keeper! It's not too sweet, just the right amount of raisins. Perfect served warm with butter. It's crispy on the outside and soft on the inside. I wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by littlemissmuffin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
So simple, and so delicious! I made no changes to the recipe, should have adjusted it to serve two, but we'll eat it again! A little sweet because of the raisins, and just fit with the corned beef recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz Povar
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
I didn't try this recipe, but I Sheila T mentioned the "dark bread served in many restaurants in Ireland" and I have been searching for that recipe for a number of years without any luck. So Sheila T. or anyone else, do you have the recipe for the dark bread served in restaurants? Thanks for helping!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sheila T
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
MANDIAPPAN, this is my recipe and I apologize that I just now saw your review about how wet the dough was. You need to add flour your countertop or board or whatever you're using to shape the dough into a ball and also have your hands covered in flour. It really sounds like you didn't have enough flour. I hope you try the recipe again and it works out better for you! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheila T

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Levittown, New York, USA
Living In: Wakefield, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
Fast, easy and delicious! It is a bit messy though - the dough is wetter than I expected, which sticks to the counter a lot. Baked in 40 mins. I used 1/3 c. sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
First Irish Soda Bread.. super easy and best of all QUICK to put together, I didn't change a thing. Baked it a little longer than what was called for which was odd because my oven usually runs hot, but made 2 loaves in a weekend and both came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States