Grandma McAndrews' Irish Soda Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
I brought this to work and everyone loved it! I will be making this again very soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gainesville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
I actually used this recipe to make mini loaves of soda bread - i had to figure out the timing of course but they came out great! If you don't want the big loaf and make the individual ones for handing out or dinner - try it! Great recipe - one of my faves!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie Fraser

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Park Ridge, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Norwalk, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
Good, moist. Next time I will add a little butter and sprinkled sugar to the top. I took another reviewer's suggestion and made two loaves, perfect for a one person household, one to enjoy now and one to freeze for later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweet cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
3-1/2 stars. Dough was quite wet. Could be because I was short 1 cup of flour and substituted cake flour. Finished product is quite bland and a bit dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
Made exactly according to the recipe and it turned out awesome! The last time I made Irish soda bread (from a different recipe) it was so dry. But, this was moist with just a hint of sweetness. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
This is such an amazing recipe!! I made my own revisions on it though. Instead of raisins i used dried cranberries and soaked them in a little bit of brandy and whiskey. Then I added a little more oil than the recipe called for as well an brushing the top with some melted butter and milk as it was baking. Note: I baked mine almost an hour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
Delicious!!! I just made 2 loaves after making a quick to disappear loaf a few weeks ago. My husband called it the giant scone! I love the simplicity, taste and tenderness of the bread. I have made other loaves of soda bread which I love but this is the most straight forward. Just finished a warm piece with a bowl of spicy chili-sounds odd but, really, a perfect match!! Update: I wanted to add that I made some last night to give in holiday gift bags. I divided the dough to make 2 smaller loaves...perfect size for gifts. The dough is very sticky and I just kind of mounded it and use a butter knife to kind of smooth it a bit. They baked up very well at 30 minutes, nice and golden. Awesome bread and great for toasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Quincy, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
I love this bread. To give it a little kick I soak the raisins in whiskey. I like to use dried cranberries around the holidays or as an alternative. I serve mine with orange marmalade. I have tried caraway seeds in this bread but they are optional because they are an acquired taste. Grandma McAndrews bread jump starts my Irish Jig!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by oOMamaBeeOo

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lockwood, California, USA
Living In: Paso Robles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
Although I didn't have raisins, I stuck to the recipe exactly (well, substituting veggie oil instead of corn oil) and it came out AMAZING! I combined the wet and dry ingredients as directed, gooshing them together by hand until it made a nice, sticky ball that I slapped into a lightly oiled, square little glass pan. I baked it at 350 degrees for about 45 minutes and it was perfect! Hot, steaming, moist and delightfully sweet...I almost reminded me of the taste of sweet cornbread. I made it with some Irish Lamb Stew from this site, and it was too good for words. Nothing less than perfection. I can't thank you enough for this awesome recipe!! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TendoQueen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Rockwood, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
Followed recipe exactly and was rewarded with two perfect loaves of soda bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JPsCooking

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Chef John's Irish Soda Bread

Classic recipe for an Irish quick bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States