Grandma McAndrews' Irish Soda Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
I have made this soda bread for St. Patrick's Day two years in a row, and it is always a hit! So easy, so delicious! I followed the recipe AS WRITTEN both years, and other than needing extra baking time this year (moved to another state and the oven here leaves a lot to be desired), it was perfect! Thank you Sheila for posting this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
I made it exactly as written, and it came out perfectly! I was worried when I first took the bread out of the oven because it seemed undercooked. I let it sit for an hour or so while I finished the rest of the meal, and by dinner time it was absolutely perfect! I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shesinparties

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
Followed recipe except I pan "warmed the raisins and crainrains" with a tablespoon of butter and added to the dry mix. Two loaves were made. Too wet to cut a "x" in top. The entire family and coworkers loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by inounvme

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lansdowne, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
It took 55 minutes to bake and it wasn't as moist as everybody said but it was a heck of a lot more moist than any other soda bread I've ever had. I used dried cranberries because I hate raisins but other than that, I followed the recipe but the dough wasn't all that soft. Next time I'll reduce the flour by about 1/8 cup and see what happens. All together it's pretty good and the house smelled wonderful while it was baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clare

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenwich, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Newtown, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
This is almost identical to "Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread" on this site except that this recipe omits the butter. I miss the butter -- apparently I'm just a glutton that way. This is otherwise very tasty (and much healthier and probably more authentic, too). Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
Great bread! I made two loaves; one with and one without currants. They were very well received!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
I brought this to work and everyone loved it! I will be making this again very soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gainesville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
I actually used this recipe to make mini loaves of soda bread - i had to figure out the timing of course but they came out great! If you don't want the big loaf and make the individual ones for handing out or dinner - try it! Great recipe - one of my faves!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie Fraser

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Park Ridge, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Norwalk, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
Good, moist. Next time I will add a little butter and sprinkled sugar to the top. I took another reviewer's suggestion and made two loaves, perfect for a one person household, one to enjoy now and one to freeze for later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweet cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
3-1/2 stars. Dough was quite wet. Could be because I was short 1 cup of flour and substituted cake flour. Finished product is quite bland and a bit dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States