Grandma McAndrews' Irish Soda Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 22, 2014
This turned out well enough. Can't really fault it in anyway. We just apparently aren't Irish Soda Bread enthusiast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mamu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: El Cajon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
What a simple recipe . You will have everything you need in you cupboard . I marinated raisins in whiskey and used buttermilk instead of milk. How delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
This is a definite keeper! It's not too sweet, just the right amount of raisins. Perfect served warm with butter. It's crispy on the outside and soft on the inside. I wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by littlemissmuffin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
So simple, and so delicious! I made no changes to the recipe, should have adjusted it to serve two, but we'll eat it again! A little sweet because of the raisins, and just fit with the corned beef recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
I didn't try this recipe, but I Sheila T mentioned the "dark bread served in many restaurants in Ireland" and I have been searching for that recipe for a number of years without any luck. So Sheila T. or anyone else, do you have the recipe for the dark bread served in restaurants? Thanks for helping!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sheila T
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
MANDIAPPAN, this is my recipe and I apologize that I just now saw your review about how wet the dough was. You need to add flour your countertop or board or whatever you're using to shape the dough into a ball and also have your hands covered in flour. It really sounds like you didn't have enough flour. I hope you try the recipe again and it works out better for you! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheila T

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Levittown, New York, USA
Living In: Wakefield, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
Fast, easy and delicious! It is a bit messy though - the dough is wetter than I expected, which sticks to the counter a lot. Baked in 40 mins. I used 1/3 c. sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
First Irish Soda Bread.. super easy and best of all QUICK to put together, I didn't change a thing. Baked it a little longer than what was called for which was odd because my oven usually runs hot, but made 2 loaves in a weekend and both came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
This tasted exactly like my Grandmother's recipe. I was looking for something authentic and so many other "soda breads" on this site were too sweet. This is perfect. The raisins add just enough sweetness and the bread is crumbly but not too dry. I made a double batch and baked two loaves in oiled metal cake pans. I think next time I will make multiple smaller loaves because it took so long for the inside to finish baking that all the raisins on the top were burnt. Only thing I did differently was used vegetable oil instead of corn oil, and used golden raisins (plumped them in hot water before adding). This is so yummy toasted with butter!! Thank you, Sheila, for a fantastic recipe! This will be made much more than once a year in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
I took this to my sister's traditional St. Patrick's Day lunch. It was a big hit. It was gone by the end of the meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States