Grandma Maggio's Spaghetti Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Alyssa117
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
Thank you, thank you, thank you for sharing! I can't say enough about this sauce. I have been making this for over a year now. I always make exactly as written. Do not skip on the wine or sugar, they add an interesting, special something that is different from most sauces. I find that this is best with hot Italian sausage, (as opposed to meatballs) because the Heat from the sausage works well with the sweetness of the sauce. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
Great as is, but I also like adding 1 hot pepper and 1 red pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
I made this tonight for dinner for extended family and absolutely loved it!!! I'm not a great cook even though I've tried several recipes they never seemed to turn out the way that I wanted...until this one. The only changes that I made were that the grocery store was out of fresh basil so I bought a tomato sauce that already had basil in it (Hunt's), and I bought crushed tomatoes rather than whole tomatoes (as another reviewer suggested). I made it in the morning and threw it in the crockpot to simmer on low for the day. It was SO MUCH BETTER than a store bought sauce doctored up (which is what I had done in the past)...and it really comes together quickly! It was a beautiful color and clung to the pasta perfectly. I made homemade meatballs and added them....Wow!! I'll try the fresh basil next time and update my review. Thank you so much for submitting a recipe that actually lived up to its rating : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
This is the best spaghetti sauce I have ever made. The red wine gives it that special touch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jan Mayo Massie
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
Use quality Merlot for the best flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jan Mayo Massie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Farmington, Utah, USA
Living In: South Weber, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
So good, I used Marasala wine instead. I put it on top of tilapia fish and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
So very good, and so easy with a fresh homemade flavor. Used 1/4 cup sugar, a Syrah, and my own meatballs served over veggie penne. It makes a ton, so be prepared for multiple lunches or dinners from the one batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bbxxiv

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
This recipe was fabulous! New family favorite !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
This sauce is SO good. I let it simmer all day... Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Have already made this twice in two weeks. Very good. I only omitted the mushrooms but added green peppers. The second time I didn't have fresh basil and it was still very good but it was better with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Quick Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a super-simple spaghetti sauce. It's ready in less than an hour.

Spaghetti Sauce II

See how to make a thick, rich tomato sauce that’s just a bit spicy.

Spaghetti Sauce

An easy homemade spaghetti sauce with tomatoes, onions, garlic, and herbs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States