Grandma Maggio's Spaghetti Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2015
It is only 4 stars because I actually combined your recipe with the recipe on this site,"italian meatballs and spaghetti," and omitted the tomato sauce from this recipe. I added more whole peeled tomatoes, added some red pepper to my taste(because I love spicy food), and it was so good!! I do simmer my sauce for a couple of hours to get the flavors combined very well. Thank you for your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by miriam tarabay

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2015
Great recipe! I didn't have mushrooms, added ground beef, and admittedly don't measure---but the sauce tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2015
Perfect if you are looking for a sweet sauce. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2015
I've used this recipe several times and we have liked it every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
I left the salt out. just a pinch of sugar. I left this, after a quick boil, on a simmer for @7 hours. this was very good. I really should have doubled this. I wanted to use this sauce in lasagna. too many taste testings :) I used chef john's meatball recipe with this. a killer combination!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
Omg, this sauce is amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Alyssa117
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
Thank you, thank you, thank you for sharing! I can't say enough about this sauce. I have been making this for over a year now. I always make exactly as written. Do not skip on the wine or sugar, they add an interesting, special something that is different from most sauces. I find that this is best with hot Italian sausage, (as opposed to meatballs) because the Heat from the sausage works well with the sweetness of the sauce. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
Great as is, but I also like adding 1 hot pepper and 1 red pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
I made this tonight for dinner for extended family and absolutely loved it!!! I'm not a great cook even though I've tried several recipes they never seemed to turn out the way that I wanted...until this one. The only changes that I made were that the grocery store was out of fresh basil so I bought a tomato sauce that already had basil in it (Hunt's), and I bought crushed tomatoes rather than whole tomatoes (as another reviewer suggested). I made it in the morning and threw it in the crockpot to simmer on low for the day. It was SO MUCH BETTER than a store bought sauce doctored up (which is what I had done in the past)...and it really comes together quickly! It was a beautiful color and clung to the pasta perfectly. I made homemade meatballs and added them....Wow!! I'll try the fresh basil next time and update my review. Thank you so much for submitting a recipe that actually lived up to its rating : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
This is the best spaghetti sauce I have ever made. The red wine gives it that special touch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janice

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a super-simple spaghetti sauce. It's ready in less than an hour.

Spaghetti Sauce II

See how to make a thick, rich tomato sauce that’s just a bit spicy.

Spaghetti Sauce

An easy homemade spaghetti sauce with tomatoes, onions, garlic, and herbs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States