Grandma Johnson's Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
This is a great recipe. The only changes were I cooked them for a few minutes longer and drizzled confectioners sugar mixed with a small amount of water and vanilla. Have made this for many occasions and it is always a hit. Thanks for the recipe. DG
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
Fantastic scone recipe. I followed as written using cold butter and cutting it in. Scones came out moist, but flakey. Husband gave them an A+! I did add 1 teaspoon of almond extract to the eggs before blending. This is a great base recipe and I look forward to trying different flavor combos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
I can't rate these fairly as is, because I didn't follow the recipe exactly. When I read from some reviewers that the texture was more like a "muffin", I didn't want that. I wanted more of a crisp, crumbly texture. One reviewer recommended omitting the egg so as not to get that muffin kind of texture, so that's what I did differently. Instead of the egg, I added 1/4 cup of milk in its place. The dough was indeed very crumbly and hard to work with, but the end result was good, though still not as "dry" as I would have liked. My husband LOVES them. I added fresh blueberries instead of the raisins and baked them for 25 minutes (they are big). I also gave them a quick brushing of egg white and a dusting of some course grained sugar on the top before baking, and that added a nice touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
I've made these several times...actually have some in the oven now!!! these are SOOOOOOO good and it's the only scone recipe I use!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2013
Very fast and easy cooking. Tastes great! Recommended recipe for baking beginners.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andriy Moraru

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2013
This was delicious. I used cold butter that I cut up into small cubes and mixed with a pastry blender. Then I used my favorite utensil on a lightly floured counter (my hands) to get to the right consistency. I also added a zest of one orange and a few handfuls of dried cranberries. Yummy cranberry orange scones that my friends and family loved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StacyRenae

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richland, Washington, USA
Living In: West Richland, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 19, 2013
Wow. Just wow. I became more popular after I made this recipe! I didn't have any eggs, unfortunately, so I added milk until it reached the desired consistency. 3/4 cup sugar is plenty! It was really good! Moist... delicious... mmm...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jonesborough, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: May 15, 2013
We make at least 10 dozen a week at Sweet Arts Bakery, Avon NY. One of my best sellers! The beauty is that we make them on Monday and freeze them, then take the out and bake as needed. I've even taught them our baking classes. Thank you, Grandma Johnson!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruth Ann Lewis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2013
Very good, but more of a cake than a true English scone, which is eaten at tea with butter/cream and jam, but pretty good nevertheless, and definitely as good as any scone I have ever had in an American bakery. Next time I think I will try cutting down the suger by about 1/4 cup especially if adding the raisins. Seems like the recipe should make many more than 12 servings. I made 16 very large scones. Next time I think I will make into 2 rounds and make into smaller wedges for more servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 10, 2013
We made these this morning with chocolate chips instead of raisins. Overall they were really good. I tend to like things a bit sweeter so next time I will press the cut scone dough in some raw sugar before they bake to make them slightly sweeter and add some crunch. Also unless we made them tiny (about the size of my hand)the quantity it makes is off. We got about 28 scones out of this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anthony Revis

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cypress, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 1,804) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States