Grandma Johnson's Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
I love this recipe! I have made cinnamon-sugar "pinwheel" scones by rolling it out, spreading cinnamon sugar all over it, rolling it up and slicing them into little pinwheels. I've also added 1/2 cup cocoa powder and a tbs of sugar to make chocolate scones. They're ALWAYS a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
Hands-down, the best scone recipe I've ever used. Or even eaten. Not dry at all, the sour cream makes such a difference. They're addicting though, so I don't make them often. I especially like to use dark chocolate chips (chunks) instead of the raisins and drizzle the top with a tiny bit of coarse sea salt for the contrast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
Best scones I've ever had. I added blueberries!! Yummmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
Thank you thank you!! I made these for my daughter's birthday tea party and everyone loved them, kids and adults alike. I will certainly make these again. I did nothing to the recipe and they were perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
I have never had so many requests for more. I've made these with cranberries. Blueberries. Apricots. I think apricots are everyone's favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
These were a little labor intensive, but came out great. The sour cream/baking soda combination was new to me, but really made the end product light and delicious. I added about a tablespoon of lemon zest and 3/4 c of dried cranberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Absolutely wonderful! Made the basic scones (no extra additions this time but will definitely in the future) and served with homemade strawberry jam & raspberry jam. Num num num!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandi S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
This is great! I used organic spelt flour, and used organic cane sugar, and chocolate chips. This is a family favorite and I make this often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
I'm not a huge fan of scones and neither is my hubby, but this recipe was so highly rated, I decided to give it a try. Guess what!?! Now we are fans! These are really good. Not dry like so many. I took others advice and added orange extract, orange zest, and dried cranberries and they were very good. I will definitely continue to make these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
great recipe! I also added some vanilla and increased the sugar by 1/4 cup for cranberry/almond (to counter the tartness!). I also tried chopping apples and walnuts and adding some cinnamon and nutmeg. Next, I'm trying chocolate & toffee with a caramel drizzle!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 1,798) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States