Grandma Johnson's Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
First time baking raisin scones using this recipe. Both me and my husband love it! I'd reduce the amount of sugar to 3/4 cups rather than 1 cup if you are adding raisins. In addition, I think the baking time should be at least 22 to 25 minutes? My doughs looked undercooked when I checked at 15 minutes...wonder if anyone experiences the same issue. Overall, very nice recipe. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina Chen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
These are fantastic! So soft and moist, I've made them with orange peel and I've also made them with cinnamon, really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
This is such a great recipe.So simple. The only thing I changed was adding blueberries instead of raisens. YUM-O!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bay City, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
So delicious and so customizable with add ins. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
Use large bowls! And You don't need a whole cup of butter. No difference in taste or texture. Use 11 tbsps (1 tbsp less than 3/4cup)instead of 1 cup, make sure to cut in cold, unsalted butter. The edges of the scones are the best part so cut or shape them smaller than suggested, they double in size. These aren't super dense scones, but not too fluffy either. If you cook them about 5 minutes past done, they're even better. Next time I will exclude the egg for even less fluff. The Sour cream when mixed with the baking soda will rise and overflow if you mix it in too small a bowl (like I did). If making cranberry orange scones, I used the zest of 1 large navel orange and it was just barely detecable. Next time I will use 1.5 oranges or 2. Yummy scones! brush with egg wash on top before cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dsamii
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
Perfect. And I'm really fussy. I did everything exactly as followed with the exception of cutting the sugar back to 1/3 c. (Next time I think I'll use only 1/4 c. sugar, as I don't want super sweet anything for breakfast - but this is a personal taste question.) I am throwing out all other scone recipes I have (there are many). From now on, this'll be my base for any number of variations. I can also recommend using spelt BAKING flour on this one. Terrific. These have just the right density vs lightness. Congratulations, Rob and Grandma. Job well done - and much appreciated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
I just tried this recipe and it turned out to be one flaky mess. I couldn't get the dough to stick together. ANyone else have this problem. I followed the recipe exactly….even watched the video to make sure I did it correctly. Any advice? They tasted fine but won't stay together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
These are the best "like the store" scones I have found. I was surprised to find that the next day they were even better. I'm not sure if I rolled out the dough to thin, but I had almost 2 dozen various sized scones. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
I replaced the currants with blackberries for a morning business meeting. I did not have any cream of tartar so I left it and the baking soda out and added 1 tsp of baking powder in its place. They rose nice and high and my peers said they were moist and the best they'd ever had. They were a huge hit. I will definitely bake them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Powell River, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
these were delicious and easy to make! i left them in the oven a little longer than it said, but overall very tasty! i'm definitely going to use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 1,804) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States