Grandma Johnson's Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
These are the best "like the store" scones I have found. I was surprised to find that the next day they were even better. I'm not sure if I rolled out the dough to thin, but I had almost 2 dozen various sized scones. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
I replaced the currants with blackberries for a morning business meeting. I did not have any cream of tartar so I left it and the baking soda out and added 1 tsp of baking powder in its place. They rose nice and high and my peers said they were moist and the best they'd ever had. They were a huge hit. I will definitely bake them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Powell River, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
these were delicious and easy to make! i left them in the oven a little longer than it said, but overall very tasty! i'm definitely going to use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
My first attempt with scones was so-so. I decided to try this recipe and I'm so glad. They were wonderful. I made Orange Choc chip since they were for a kid's book club. Added fresh orange zest and about tblsp juice to sour cream mixture. Then topped with an orange glaze. Mixed my egg with the sour cream just before adding to the dry ingredients. Picked up some great tips by watching the Chef John Scone video. Add your fruit/Choc chips to the flour mixture to keep from over working the dough, Split my dough into two rounds. Loved the tip to use saran wrap to knead and form dough. Saves on the mess
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
LOVE this recipe! Everyone always loves these. Trick to getting them perfect is to not over mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
Excellent recipe. My scones came out to be lighter in texture than most scones I have had but they were wonderful. I halved the recipe and made mini scones (same size as the Starbucks vanilla bean scones). Baking time was 12-14 min for me. I added a 1/2tsp of vanilla and cut back a bit on the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
These were fantastic!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
Found them to be a slightly dry, but we still ate them all. I made them exactly as the recipe states.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
First time making scones and they were fabulous! I followed other reviewers advice and froze some. I would suggest making smaller quantities as they are not nearly as good the second day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
Just made these as lemon poppyseed. Delicious! I ran out of eggs so used 1T flax seed meal mixed with 3T warm water (let it sit for 10 minutes), and they still came out great! The texture is wonderful. Slightly cake-like, but slightly crumbly. A wonderful scone. Mmmm... this made a lot so I baked half and froze half (raw) to make whenever I want later. I usually make a different recipe that doesn't require sour cream, and now I have two favorites depending on what I have in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 1,787) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States