Grandma Johnson's Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
Use large bowls! And You don't need a whole cup of butter. No difference in taste or texture. Use 11 tbsps (1 tbsp less than 3/4cup)instead of 1 cup, make sure to cut in cold, unsalted butter. The edges of the scones are the best part so cut or shape them smaller than suggested, they double in size. These aren't super dense scones, but not too fluffy either. If you cook them about 5 minutes past done, they're even better. Next time I will exclude the egg for even less fluff. The Sour cream when mixed with the baking soda will rise and overflow if you mix it in too small a bowl (like I did). If making cranberry orange scones, I used the zest of 1 large navel orange and it was just barely detecable. Next time I will use 1.5 oranges or 2. Yummy scones! brush with egg wash on top before cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dsamii
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
Perfect. And I'm really fussy. I did everything exactly as followed with the exception of cutting the sugar back to 1/3 c. (Next time I think I'll use only 1/4 c. sugar, as I don't want super sweet anything for breakfast - but this is a personal taste question.) I am throwing out all other scone recipes I have (there are many). From now on, this'll be my base for any number of variations. I can also recommend using spelt BAKING flour on this one. Terrific. These have just the right density vs lightness. Congratulations, Rob and Grandma. Job well done - and much appreciated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
I just tried this recipe and it turned out to be one flaky mess. I couldn't get the dough to stick together. ANyone else have this problem. I followed the recipe exactly….even watched the video to make sure I did it correctly. Any advice? They tasted fine but won't stay together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
These are the best "like the store" scones I have found. I was surprised to find that the next day they were even better. I'm not sure if I rolled out the dough to thin, but I had almost 2 dozen various sized scones. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
I replaced the currants with blackberries for a morning business meeting. I did not have any cream of tartar so I left it and the baking soda out and added 1 tsp of baking powder in its place. They rose nice and high and my peers said they were moist and the best they'd ever had. They were a huge hit. I will definitely bake them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Powell River, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
these were delicious and easy to make! i left them in the oven a little longer than it said, but overall very tasty! i'm definitely going to use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
My first attempt with scones was so-so. I decided to try this recipe and I'm so glad. They were wonderful. I made Orange Choc chip since they were for a kid's book club. Added fresh orange zest and about tblsp juice to sour cream mixture. Then topped with an orange glaze. Mixed my egg with the sour cream just before adding to the dry ingredients. Picked up some great tips by watching the Chef John Scone video. Add your fruit/Choc chips to the flour mixture to keep from over working the dough, Split my dough into two rounds. Loved the tip to use saran wrap to knead and form dough. Saves on the mess
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
LOVE this recipe! Everyone always loves these. Trick to getting them perfect is to not over mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
Excellent recipe. My scones came out to be lighter in texture than most scones I have had but they were wonderful. I halved the recipe and made mini scones (same size as the Starbucks vanilla bean scones). Baking time was 12-14 min for me. I added a 1/2tsp of vanilla and cut back a bit on the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
These were fantastic!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 1,790) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States