Grandma Johnson's Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
just the right amount of sweetness in my opinion! i used blueberries instead of raisins and sprinkled just a touch of sugar on the top prior to baking. lovely and easy recipe!! so glad i found it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
Awesome recipe! My whole family loved these scones,especially my dad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MariyaR

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gmorriello
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
Definitely use food processor!!! I added 2 tbs orange peel, pecans and craisins! Amazing!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
I just made the most amazing scones using this recipe. I didn't have sour cream so I used yogurt. I added lemon and orange zest and 2 tbsp lemon juice. This will be my go to recipe for scones. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
I never made scones before but everyone raved about the scones, so I will make them again. I just topped them off with some milk and sour cream before baking them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
Absolutely the best scone recipe I've ever made (or eaten). I love trying different add-ins each time. So far lemon/poppyseed is my favorite, but I also love them with dried cherries, blueberries, raisins, apricots (cut into small pieces), and fruit mixtures that I find at Trader Joe's. I find that I have better luck with dried fruit compared to fresh. I enjoy making them with my little granddaughter because she loves to help me cut them out. All my friends and neighbors are thrilled when I bring over a batch -- along with clotted cream, of course!!! I highly recommend trying this recipe. It really is the best ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
I tried this recipe. Used plain lactose free yoghurt a instead of sour cream. Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
This was very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pago Pago, Eastern, American Samoa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
I used chocolate chips instead of raisins and bread flower instead of all purpose- turned out great! They were very moist. I did have to bake them for a full 15 minutes to brown the bottoms. Update: tried making these without chocolate chips, but instead, kneeded in a mixture of 1 cup unpacked brown sugar and 4t cinnamon before cutting with a cookie cutter. I baked them for 18 minutes and they turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
Great recipe! I used vanilla Greek yogurt (Great Value brand), since I was out of sour cream. I did have to bake them a few minutes longer, but they turned out delicious & moist! They were absolutely superb fresh out of the oven (kids couldn't keep their hands off!!), and still very tasty the next day. I separated into 3 rounds, and pressed chocolate chips into the top of one, butterscotch chips into another, and fresh cranberries into another. All 3 were VERY good, but chocolate chip seemed to be the favorite. :) Tonight I added about 1 tsp. coconut extract to about half of the dough, and pressed coconut flakes into the top before baking. That is also REALLY good, but next time I'll add more extract for a stronger flavor. Definitely recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 1,821) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States