Grandma Johnson's Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
I have made this recipe as written a dozen times and everyone loves it! To lighten it up for everyday use I use white whole wheat flour, reduce sugar by half, reduce butter by half and add about 6 tbsp of buttermilk (or milk, half and half, heavy cream, whatever you have) to keep it more moist. I have also replaced one cup of flour with whole oats on occasion. Both variations create yummy scones also. Again, the recipe as written is WONDERFUL but IF you want to lighten it up a bit don't worry about playing with a recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by marcy
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
Very good! The scones were not too dense and very buttery. I'm definitely making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
Absolutely fabulous! Divide dough and make two disks, otherwise they are too large. That also allows you to make two different flavors! My favorite is fresh blueberry dusted with powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DKTRUM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomingdale, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Forest, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
These scones were delicious! I read reviews and I decided to add a couple new things, I added 1 tsp of vanilla, 1 tsp of cinnamon, and 1/2 tsp of nutmeg. I really think these were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2014
These are really full flavored scones that can be eaten plain. There's no need to add butter (there's alot in them already) or jam but you can. I added dried cranberries and 2 T orange juice. Very delicious! The scones are very tender with a light exterior crust. I will make these again for sure. They would be excellent used in strawberry shortcake, minus the raisins or cranberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2014
Superb! Made with frozen blueberries instead of raisins. Topped with a simple glaze: 2.5 cups powdered sugar 1/4 cup whole milk (More If Needed For Thinning) 1/4 tsp vanilla 1 dash salt
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
Have made Grandma Johnson's Scones a few times. Always come out nice and fluffy. The tick is to not over mix or need.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
easy and very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
just the right amount of sweetness in my opinion! i used blueberries instead of raisins and sprinkled just a touch of sugar on the top prior to baking. lovely and easy recipe!! so glad i found it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
Awesome recipe! My whole family loved these scones,especially my dad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MariyaR

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 1,819) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States