Grandma Johnson's Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
These were fantastic!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
Found them to be a slightly dry, but we still ate them all. I made them exactly as the recipe states.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
First time making scones and they were fabulous! I followed other reviewers advice and froze some. I would suggest making smaller quantities as they are not nearly as good the second day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
Just made these as lemon poppyseed. Delicious! I ran out of eggs so used 1T flax seed meal mixed with 3T warm water (let it sit for 10 minutes), and they still came out great! The texture is wonderful. Slightly cake-like, but slightly crumbly. A wonderful scone. Mmmm... this made a lot so I baked half and froze half (raw) to make whenever I want later. I usually make a different recipe that doesn't require sour cream, and now I have two favorites depending on what I have in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
These scones are amazing. They have the perfect amount of sweetness, and they melt in your mouth. I added some white chocolate chips to change it up, and they were delicious. I also use greek yogurt instead of sour cream, and in my opinion, it's even better. This is the second time I make this recipe but definitely not the last because these scones are completely addictive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
Have been using this for several years! Wonderful basic scone recipe which can be customized. My family likes it with chocolate chips, cherries, blueberries, currants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Wycoff

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Monroe, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaylin Lydia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ridgefield, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
These are sweet and crumbly - I topped them off with dollops of clotted cream and strawberry preserves. Everyone in my household enjoyed them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Villa Hills, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Florence, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
Made these for a tea party...I'd never had them before but they turned out excellent. I think I will cut them differently next time b/c I don't think they were supposed to look like that! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
This recipe was GREAT! I added an extra 1/2 cup sugar as others suggested. I only had low-fat sour cream so I used that instead of regular and could not even tell at all. I mixed the dry ingredients in the food processor, added the butter and then the sour cream mixture. I made half the batch plain, 1/4 of the batch with a handful of mini chocolate chips and 1/2 tsp. vanilla extract and 1/4 of the batch with 3/4 tsp. almond extract and fresh raspberries. The chocolate chip ones were my husband's favorite and the almond/rasp ones were mine. The plain were REALLY good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 1,821) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

Chef John's Whole-Grain Blueberry Scones

Perfect for lunch or simply to let someone know they're loved!

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States