Grandma Johnson's Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
I cut this recipe in half and it ended up being a little dry, but I'm sure that is my fault somehow. In trying to keep the dough together I think I also over-kneaded it. Delicious though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
I tried this for my daughter's birthday tea and they were a hit. My step daughters even loved them and they are scone lovers. I didn't have sour cream so I substituted nonfat greek yogurt. I added a splash of oj and a couple of drops of Do'terra Wild Orange and cranberries. they came out great. I am making 2 batches now so I can freeze 1/2. I used my food processor to cut in the butter, they came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Beta
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
This recipe is soo delicious! You can add to it and make any kind of scones you want. I thawed some frozen blackberries mixed them in with the sour cream and added dash of vanilla. They came out so perfect. Follow the recipe on the recommended thickness 3/4 in. Be careful not to make them too thick or its hard to cook them through with out getting the edges to done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
Great recipe – light, fluffy and easy easy easy !! Did not add raisins but substituted frozen blueberries dusted in flour when forming circle. Came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elgiegirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
Great recipe, first time I have made scones. I will definitely be making these again. I tried to make them healthier but still took into account other's edits, and this is what I came up with: 1 1/4 cup sugar NO sour cream, instead used 2 single-serve 0% fage greek yogurts Only used 1 stick of UNSALTED butter instead of 2 If you are making orange/cranberry: Add about 1 cup of dried cranberries & a shy 1/2 cup orange juice to mix. Made a glaze for the top with orange juice, milk, powdered sugar & cinnamon. I also added a teaspoon of cinnamon & 1/4 teaspoon of cloves to the dough, although my fiancé did not like that. It is a matter of preference but as the "household scone expert," he told me cinnamon has no place in a cranberry/orange scone. Up to you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by howejes1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
These are wonderful. People who don't like scones loved these. Divided dough into 3 bowls and made 3 flavors: vanilla with mini chocolate chips and demarra sugar on top, dried cherry with almond and then conf sugar/cherry preserves brushed on top after cool, and dried cranberries with OJ/orange peel and then conf sugar/oj/orange peel brushed on top when cool. The orange was awesome. After I mixed each flavor, I shaped dough into a round of each flavor and cut each round into 8 triangles. Dough is very forgiving. Even 2 days later, kept in lock top plastic bags, these were good. Just make 'em!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
I'm constantly making these per my 11, 7 y/o & husband's request. It's a great basis for scones, sometimes I use chocolates that I have stored away & chop them up, sometimes I'll throw in some craisins w/ orange zest, I've even tried cooked diced applewood bacon & green onion. YUM!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corina_m7

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kingsburg, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
Right now I can't rate with the stars it's not working, but for sure its a 5 star recipe. Hope they fix this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
I tried this recipe when it first appeared on this site and I have had the greatest compliments. I made adjustments to the recipe using some of the reviews and it never failed. My son who was quite ill when I started making these could eat 4-5 scones a day when nothing else appealed to him. My favorite was the lemon juice and rind additions and only 1/2 cup sugar because I drizzled lemon juice and powdered sugar on the tops. Thank you for the best scones I have EVER tasted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by farah
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2014
Fantastic, easy to make recipe! I've used it about 10 times and used different things each time including: chocolate chips, white chocolate chips/apricot, sliced almonds/cranberries, sliced almonds/blueberries.. So many options! They're always gone in about a day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,806) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States