Grandma Johnson's Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2015
Omg these are amazing! Instead of raisins, I added chopped up chocolate and 2 cups frozen mixed berries and it's amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
I find that when i make these i need to add a litlle milk to get it to the consistency needed to pat it out. So delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2015
Made this tonight with blueberries and lemon. Amazing! I did add a teaspoon of vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sakuba29

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2015
For years I've had a go-to recipe for scones that would use up old milk. Lately though, instead of having a lot of milk to use, I've had a lot of leftover yogurt, and remembered I'd used this recipe once years ago. I used the yogurt instead of sour cream, and the texture and consistency of both the batter and the finished product are exactly as I feel scones should be. (That means, they are how I remember them growing up.) The technique of activating the baking soda with the acidity of the yogurt makes them so fluffy, and is probably a lost art, as very few modern recipes use this method. I might have to use this recipe more often in the future. Thank you Grandma Johnson, whoever you are.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Milford, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
Really good base. I think you can do anything from here. We added blueberries and made a nice tart lemon icing. Also did one set with fresh cranberries and a little orange.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
I first mad these delicious scones over two years ago. Some friends and I were having a tea party, and I was in charge of the scones. This recipe did not disappoint! I split the dough in thirds, and added a different mix in to each third. Then I made 3/4" high rectangle of each type, cutting zigzag across to make 8 mini scones of each type. For the mix-ins I used mini chocolate chips in one, golden raisins in another and left the last plain. Since then I have also added dried cranberries and orange extract for an amazing cranberry orange scone. This also works well with pecans and chopped dates for a truly decadent treat! Wonderful recipe! A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by greenthumb

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2015
These scones are amazing! They are very incredible. TIPS: Bake for 15 min , not 12. (underdone) Try Cranberry Orange! (dried cranberries instead of raisins and orange zest) Bake with demerara sugar on top (crunchy and sweet) Use cold butter! RAISIN SUBSTITUTES: Dried Blueberries Craisins (dried cranberries) Chocolate Chips Pecans Great Scones. I will definitely make them more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2015
This is a family favorite. The sour cream always makes them so moist and delicious. I love to add blueberries right at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
I cut this recipe in half and it ended up being a little dry, but I'm sure that is my fault somehow. In trying to keep the dough together I think I also over-kneaded it. Delicious though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,815) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States