Grandma Johnson's Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 28, 2015
These are amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2015
These came out beautifully, though were more like tiny cakes than scones. I live in Idaho, so maybe that has something to do with the consistency, but they were not at all dry. They really were like eating the sweetest, most moist biscuit. They were more dense than cake, but very soft and fall-apart in your mouth wonderful. What I did was add some lemon zest to the sour cream mixture and let it set for an extra 10 min. I tore off a small amount of finished dough and flattened it with my fingers. Then I added as many fresh, plump blueberries as I could fit on top, then added another flattened dough disc. I gently pushed them together and turned the disc while squeezing the sides until they resembled inch thick biscuits. Baked for 18 minutes (and they really could have been in there for 20). Recipe yielded 11 5-inch "scones."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2015
I've made these scones many times and they are always a big hit. In a pinch I have used yogurt in place of the sour cream and it worked just fine. I always add a teaspoon or so of vanilla. Sometimes I use raisins and sometimes I use dried cranberries. I also cut each triangle scone into three, making them more like cookie size. I usually drizzle icing on top, not always. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2015
I followed the instructions with only one alteration. I split the portion in half. Mixed half with lemon poppy seed and the other half with orange raisin. They were delicious. My family finished them in hours
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2015
awesome! tender, moist, delicate, delicious - my new go to scone recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2015
Very good recipe. Easy to make. I substituted nonfat greek yogurt for the sour cream. I also added 1 tsp vanilla with the egg, and used craisins instead of raisins. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2015
This recipe comes out perfect every time. We use chocolate chips instead of the raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2015
Omg these are amazing! Instead of raisins, I added chopped up chocolate and 2 cups frozen mixed berries and it's amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
I find that when i make these i need to add a litlle milk to get it to the consistency needed to pat it out. So delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2015
Made this tonight with blueberries and lemon. Amazing! I did add a teaspoon of vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sakuba29

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,822) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

Chef John's Whole-Grain Blueberry Scones

Perfect for lunch or simply to let someone know they're loved!

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States