Grandma Johnson's Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
Really good base. I think you can do anything from here. We added blueberries and made a nice tart lemon icing. Also did one set with fresh cranberries and a little orange.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
I first mad these delicious scones over two years ago. Some friends and I were having a tea party, and I was in charge of the scones. This recipe did not disappoint! I split the dough in thirds, and added a different mix in to each third. Then I made 3/4" high rectangle of each type, cutting zigzag across to make 8 mini scones of each type. For the mix-ins I used mini chocolate chips in one, golden raisins in another and left the last plain. Since then I have also added dried cranberries and orange extract for an amazing cranberry orange scone. This also works well with pecans and chopped dates for a truly decadent treat! Wonderful recipe! A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by greenthumb

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2015
These scones are amazing! They are very incredible. TIPS: Bake for 15 min , not 12. (underdone) Try Cranberry Orange! (dried cranberries instead of raisins and orange zest) Bake with demerara sugar on top (crunchy and sweet) Use cold butter! RAISIN SUBSTITUTES: Dried Blueberries Craisins (dried cranberries) Chocolate Chips Pecans Great Scones. I will definitely make them more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2015
This is a family favorite. The sour cream always makes them so moist and delicious. I love to add blueberries right at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2015
simply devine, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
I cut this recipe in half and it ended up being a little dry, but I'm sure that is my fault somehow. In trying to keep the dough together I think I also over-kneaded it. Delicious though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
I tried this for my daughter's birthday tea and they were a hit. My step daughters even loved them and they are scone lovers. I didn't have sour cream so I substituted nonfat greek yogurt. I added a splash of oj and a couple of drops of Do'terra Wild Orange and cranberries. they came out great. I am making 2 batches now so I can freeze 1/2. I used my food processor to cut in the butter, they came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Beta
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
This recipe is soo delicious! You can add to it and make any kind of scones you want. I thawed some frozen blackberries mixed them in with the sour cream and added dash of vanilla. They came out so perfect. Follow the recipe on the recommended thickness 3/4 in. Be careful not to make them too thick or its hard to cook them through with out getting the edges to done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
Great recipe – light, fluffy and easy easy easy !! Did not add raisins but substituted frozen blueberries dusted in flour when forming circle. Came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elgiegirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,812) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States