Grandma Johnson's Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2006
Great recipe, just a few tips to avoid dryness and any disaster. 1. Combine the sour cream (make sure you use sour cream) and baking soda, set aside. 2. Mix the butter (make sure it is at room temperature) with the sugar (I just use 3/4 cup), 3. Beat the egg with vanilla (yes, I add 1 tsp. of vanilla) 4. Add the beaten egg to the sugar/butter mixture. 5. Add the sour cream with baking soda and mix until smooth and creamy. 6. Mix well the dry ingredients and then add them to the wet mixture, just to get everything together, do not over mix. From here, you can add as many "toppings" as you want. This are tried and tested: Chocolate chips Craisins, raisings, cherries, etc. Dried fruits such as apricots, figs or prunes (chopped in little pieces) Nuts (chopped in little pieces) I make 16 balls and press them w/ my hands to make a flat circle. Bake for 15 min. The secret with these scones is to not over mix or over handle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2470 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Guatemala City, Guatemala, Guatemala

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2002
I'd never made scones before but was having a tea party at my house and they were way too expensive to buy. I wanted to make them ahead of time so I used a 3" cookie cutter to cut them and froze them uncooked on a cookie sheet covered with wax paper. About an hour later I packaged them into ziplock bags separated by wax paper. For fresh scones anytime, put the desired amount of frozen scones (which look an awful lot like a hockey puck) on an ungreased cookie sheet and bake for 45 minutes. I added lemon zest and poppy seeds to one recipe, dried cranberries to another and left one plain. I now keep them in my freezer year-round so I can have fresh scones whenever I want. Don't freeze for more that 2-3 months but they probably won't last that long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1417 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2005
I've made this recipe MANY Times now. It's a wonderful basic recipe, but I found the butter I use really makes a difference. Regular butter creates a crumblier scone, and organic unsalted makes it more cake-like, like a Starbucks scone. I prefer it that way. My favorite flavors so far are Orange Spice (orange extract, grated orange rind, cinnamon, allspice, nutmeg and ginger), and lemon currant (lemon extract, lemon rind, currants). My husband's favorite is regular chocolate chip. I always break the batter in half and make 2 different flavors. Then I divide each flavor into half and make 2 rounds. If I only do 1 round per flavor, the scones are very large (Starbucks size). I prefer them smaller, so I don't eat so much at each sitting!! They are PERFECT with hot tea. I like the orange spice with lady grey, and lemon currant with green tea. OH! I also glaze the scones with a glaze made of orange or lemon extract and powdered sugar. So yummy and so pretty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1283 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2006
These are absolutely fantastic! better than starbucks! The sour cream is the star of this recipe, makes them so moist and scrumptious. I have added 1/2 c dried cranberries and 1/4 orange juice to it for orange/cranberry scones, top them with a glaze of orange zest, orange juice and confectioner's sugar and you will just die of decadence. Add some pumpkin, nutmeg, cinnamon and ginger, glaze it with a simple confectioner's sugar and you've got a wonderful holiday (or any day) treat. Add some bacon, onion and cheese, lessen the amount of sugar and you've got a super breakfast! I have made these in huge batches and put them in the freezer for easy microwaveable breakfasts. Add some black berry's and lemon zest and there's another elegant brunch item. what a great versatile, delicious recipe! This is a permanent fixture in my recipe box! Thanks Grandma Johnson!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
492 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2002
I knew I was going to alter this recipe before I ever started, and to took some suggestions from others. I added an extra 1/2c sugar, 1tsp cinnamon, 1/2tsp nutmeg, and 1tsp vanilla. I brushed the top with milk and sprinkled with cinnamon and sugar, and sliced almonds. I was looking for a stand alone scone (no jelly) and I found it, I will definetly make this again. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
429 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KingsHorses
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2006
This is a great scone recipe. I made pumpkin scones using this recipe. I used 2/3 cup canned pumpkin and 1/3 cup buttermilk instead of sour cream. I added the baking soda to the flour mixture and used brown sugar instead of white and cut it to 1/2 cup + 2 Tbsps. I added 1 tsp cinnamon, 1/4 tsp ginger, 1/4 tsp pumpkin pie spice and a pinch of cloves to the flour mixture and then followed the directions. Then I made an icing divided it and put cinnamon in half and then drizzled both over the scones. VERY yummy!! Thank you so much for sharing this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
310 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KingsHorses

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Gahanna, Ohio, USA
Living In: Centerburg, Ohio, USA
Photo by jenathomas
Reviewed: May 28, 2006
These are truly wonderful scones. I made them for the first time this morning and they were pretty easy to make. I split the dough in half and made plain with sugar sprinkled on top and then tried to make the other half blueberry. I was not very successful with the blueberry half. But it was my own fault. I had let the frozen blueberries sit on the counter for just a few minutes and they started to thaw so they were getting juicy and then I went to mix them in and it was a huge mess. But the plain with just sugar on top were fabulous so I will be using this recipe and doing all kinds of experiments in the future, starting with the blueberries. Great recipe!!! UPDATE: I have since made this recipe a couple more times and have used fresh blueberries in one batch and mini chocolate chips in another. Both turned out great. 2ND UPDATE: I made these scones again this morning and this time I used blackberries and sprinkled raw sugar (demerara sugar) on top of them and oh my gosh... this is by far my favorite combo. I love blackberries and the crunch of the larger sugar granules on top is really awesome!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
253 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Auburn, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2002
Delicious! I also added the nutmeg, cinamon and vanilla. I wasn't prepared for them to spread quite so much. My first attempt ended in one giant scone, because I put them too close together, so spread them out and plan for them to grow, grow, grow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
215 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2003
These are absolutely wonderful! I made them for my daughter's bridal shower tea and couldn't have been happier with them. I divided the dough into two circles (as recommended by others), cut it into wedges, then froze the wedges on a cookie sheet. Once frozen, they went into freezer bags until the morning of the shower, when I popped them into the oven. I served them with sliced strawberries and Easy Devonshire Cream (recipe from this website). Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
182 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Zeeland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2003
Great scone. I divided the batch into thirds - put dried cherries in one, raisins and walnuts in another, and lemon zest and poppy seeds in the third (my favorite). So many options to try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
152 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,798) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States