Grandma Johnson's Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2000
I had a afternoon tea. What an added pleasure this recipe was. Quick and easy. They were a big hit. Add some butter, heavy cream with jam and a tea party with friends on a autumn day...What more could you ask for. Thanks Kathy B.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clovis, California, USA
Living In: Salinas, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2000
I made these scones for my husband's birthday breakfast and we loved them! I added dried cranberries to the mix and they were a wonderful addition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2001
Wow - what a great recipe! It was my first try at scones, and what a thrill that they were so tasty. My husband and kids loved them, too, which surprised me. I also added dried cranberries, which were a good addition. I followed the advice not to handle it too much; in fact, the dough was still in crumbly pieces when I put it on the kneading board. I kneaded it just long enough for everything to hang togeher. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2001
This was among the first scone recipes I have tried, and my whole family loves it. They keep requesting them, and even though I would like to try some other flavors, my family just keeps wanting me to make these. These scones have been shared with family and friends - over 20 people including my immediate family - and they ALL loved them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2001
My family and I really enjoyed this quick and simple recipe. Thanks!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2001
Loved this recipe. Very light and buttery tasting..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2001
These were absolutely delicious! My husband is from Scotland, and after visiting there last year, I fell in love with scones. These were better than any I had there. They're very rich and yummy. We topped them with jam and whipped cream, just as they are done in Britain. The whole family loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEV

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Ohio, USA
Living In: London, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2001
This was delicious! I'd never made scones before, and my family adored them! I had to bake them for 20 minutes, though. I'll definitely make them again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2001
WOW. These scones are most excellent. I am not a fan of dry, crumbly scones, so these moist and light delights hit the spot! I used brown sugar instead of white, added dried cherries, brushed with milk and sprinkled on sugar before baking and had to bake for closer to 20 minutes, but they are WORTH it! Thanks for the great recipe! Shayesmom
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2001
I never made scones before and I thought there must be a mistake..the dough is hardly put together. But lo and behold, it came out absolutely delicious. Even my picky 5 yr old ate half of one, and that means it's pretty darn good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,801) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States