Grandma Johnson's Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2013
Great recipe, my family loved it. Have to cut down on the sugar, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
This is such an amazing recipe. First,i halved the ingredients because i did not have enough flour. I did not have cream of tartar so i substituted it with lemon juice (1/4t cream of tartar = 1/2t lemon juice).I did not have sour cream so i used fage 0% fat greek yoghurt instead. I added the lemon juice and baking soda to the yoghurt. I also used mixed fruit(sultanas, raisins and candied peel) and sweetened dessicated coconut.I glazed the scones with egg wash before putting them in the oven and sprinkled cinnamon sugar... so yum yum and scrumptious. My husbie totally loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
Made these this morning! Followed recipe exactly with only one exception. for a slight modification I used craisins and orange rind for a cranberry/orange version that received rave reviews from my family! Will be making these again and again! Great recipe. Thank you or sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TJR2D2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cranston, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Cibolo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2013
Easy and tasty. I used Greek yogurt (vanilla) instead of sour cream. It worked wonderfully. Split the batch and made blueberry and chocolate scones
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2013
It is just perfect. This recipe required more butter than many other recipes. Obviously more butter = more love because it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yella
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
flavor of these was good, but my scones turned out a bit too dry for my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zoya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
I've made many scones over the years, and this is by far the best recipe. Note: make sure you use real butter, handle the dough as lightly as possible and don't overbake. Also, I "shred" the butter with a grater so that it's easier to work into the flour mixture. Makes light, fabulous scones every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
Made recipe as is. It was bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
These were perfect! I prepared a traditional English afternoon tea menu for my by British mother-in-law and included these scones served with thick cream (Devonshire) and homemade strawberry preserves. She absolutely loved them and commented that they were probably the best she has ever had. They have a wonderful texture, slightly moister than regular tea biscuits due to the sour cream, but still dry enough that the addition of the cream and jam makes them perfectly delicious. I will be using this recipe again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SandraJ

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
Excellent recipe and works beautifully followed as per the directions. Someone said they might be better without the egg........scones nearly, nearly always have an egg or two whatever depends on the amount of flour. I was brought up eating and baking scones so have tasted good and bad. Scones, like biscuits, are better eaten fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 1,788) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States