Grandma Johnson's Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
Because I didn't want to overwork the dough I followed Lucia de Wagner's steps and came out with an amazingly WONDERFUL scone. I baked three and froze the rest for future enjoyment. Thank you for an amazing recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
These scones were a big hit - made a couple of flavors and froze some. Totally recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
I made this according to recipe except that I only had 2/3 c of sour cream so I used 1/3 c of vanilla yogurt to make up the difference. I was surprised to find that it worked great. I used white chocolate pieces in lieu of raisins or berries and iced with a lemon juice and powdered sugar glaze. Delish! This will be my go to scone recipe. Great with mock Devonshire cream too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
Added rind rind of one medium orange with dry ingredients and soaked one cup of craisins in the juice. Used 1/2 brown sugar and 1/2 white sugar. Omitted the raisins. Brushed top of each scone with melted butter and sprinkled cinnamon ,sugar and brown sugar combined onto each scone. Baked for 30-40 min. Until tops golden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
I have never made scones before today, I immediately had to make this recipe. I had 1/2 of a large container of sour cream in the fridge I needed to use. They came out great! The only thing I did different was smash sliced almonds on the top before I cooked them, I pushed them down into the scones. I also cooked them about 8 minutes longer than the recipe called for to make them toasty brown and crunchy. This is the way I will use the extra sour cream from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
I just made the scones and they are delicious, however, the round that I pressed the dough into created quite large wedges. Next time I will make 2 rounds for smaller wedges, had to cut the scone wedges after baking and bake a little longer as the middles were not done. I added craisins and white chocolate chips. PJ, Pittsburgh PA
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
I have made this recipe as written a dozen times and everyone loves it! To lighten it up for everyday use I use white whole wheat flour, reduce sugar by half, reduce butter by half and add about 6 tbsp of buttermilk (or milk, half and half, heavy cream, whatever you have) to keep it more moist. I have also replaced one cup of flour with whole oats on occasion. Both variations create yummy scones also. Again, the recipe as written is WONDERFUL but IF you want to lighten it up a bit don't worry about playing with a recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by marcy
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
Very good! The scones were not too dense and very buttery. I'm definitely making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
Absolutely fabulous! Divide dough and make two disks, otherwise they are too large. That also allows you to make two different flavors! My favorite is fresh blueberry dusted with powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DKTRUM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomingdale, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Forest, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
These scones were delicious! I read reviews and I decided to add a couple new things, I added 1 tsp of vanilla, 1 tsp of cinnamon, and 1/2 tsp of nutmeg. I really think these were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 1,825) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

Chef John's Whole-Grain Blueberry Scones

Perfect for lunch or simply to let someone know they're loved!

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States