Grandma Johnson's Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 25)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
Excellent basic scone recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
This is the best recipe. I increased the sugar by just 1/8 to 1/4 cup and add different combinations of 'filling' -- peach/blackberries, black-n-blueberries, chocolate chunk. So far, the family loves the fruity scones although the fruit and juice changes the texture of the scone to more muffin like texture. Still so yummy!! Thank you, Grandma Johnson!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by L DeVigal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
Super yummy! I made cranberry & white chocolate scones my first time, & they turned out great. I failed at shaping them right, but who cares when they taste good. I will make them smaller next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sudbury, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
Another great scone recipe from this site. Can't go wrong here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
These are really good! Simple and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BerniceV.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
I made cinnamon sugar scones by adding: 1/2 c. sugar, 1 tsp cinnamon, 1/2 tsp. nutmeg and 1 tsp. vanilla. Brushed on milk and topped with cinnamon, sugar mixture. Mine took 18 minutes. I freaked when it was very dry at first and then quickly turned sticky. Got it under control, but might use a food processor in the future. I made two rounds of 6 (12), but might might try 3 rounds of 6 (18) for smaller, kid-sized scones. These make 12 big, coffee house sized scones. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
Delicious! The whole family loved them. I used chocolate chips in place of raisins. These taste even better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MinxyBaby

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
very delicious scone... a nice simple basic recipe that is quick and easy to make... you can add different fruits and spices to your liking but this is a good start very very tasty.... mine took longer than 15 minutes to turn brown just watch them closely and adjust cooking time for your oven... thanks for the simple delicious recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by topcook
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
My family just loves these scones! I love to put white chocolate chips in them! I like to do more then one cup of white chocolate chips. They are so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cclampkin
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
Yummy and buttery! I didn't have cream of tartar, but they came out just fine without. I used golden raisens because that is all I had. I wish I had cranberries, that would be perfect! The only problem I have with it is that I think that cutting into 12 portions makes scones that are way to big. I am used to smaller scones so I almost doubled the amount by cutting smaller.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cclampkin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 241-250 (of 1,824) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

Chef John's Whole-Grain Blueberry Scones

Perfect for lunch or simply to let someone know they're loved!

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States