Grandma Johnson's Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 25)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
Incredible scones. Absolutely fantastic. Used 3/4 cup gran sugar + 1/4 brown sugar I make myself that is extra dark. Added 1 T of cinnamon. Divided dough in half and put 1/2 cup mini chocolate chips and sprinkles (for kids) in half, and 1/2 cup blackberries in the other. I made some powdered sugar and then made a lemon glaze for the blackberry scones, drizzled it over, and those were the favorite by far. I was told they were the best scones people had ever had. Absolutely fantastic, thank you! I did end up needing to bake them for a total of about 22 minutes, though. UPDATE Made another batch today for Mother's Day. Did 1c blackberries for the entire batch, no brown sugar, no cinnamon, just a dash of vanilla. I plan on doing a lemon juice/powdered sugar glaze again. I did one round, 12 wedges, and notice I preferred what I did the first time: two rounds, 24 total wedges. They baked up in 15 minutes today, even with the larger size, so I'm not sure why my first batch of smaller scones took 22 minutes! Maybe I had two pans in at once. Tsk, tsk ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leanna the Squirrel

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
These scones are delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
these are the best ! I make them once a week, all of my family loves them..:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
The other reviews say it all - these scones are amazing! I was really nervous when I saw the batter- extremely sticky and hard to handle. Got even more nervous when I had to coat with a lot of flour while kneading to get it to hold it's shape and not stick. BUT, after I finally got it cut into wedges and started baking, they turned out magnificantly! I added cranberries instead of raisins, also a little vanilla and cinnamon (1 tsp each). Will probably add even more next time for more flavor, but they still had perfect density, fluffiness, shape, and texture- just like a bakery!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
These are the best scones I have ever had! My husband couldn't get enough of them either! I mixed the sour cream in baking soda in a bowl. Beat the butter and sugar in another. Then added the egg and a teaspoon of vanilla. Mixed the dry ingredients together, added them to the butter/sugar mixture. Then added the sour cream. I used chocolate chips instead of raisins, but plan on making many different combinations! I also sprinkled raw sugar on top before baking. Thank you for an excellent recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
Made these yesterday morning. This recipe makes a lot of dough so I divided in half. I added 1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon to one half and chocolate chips to the other. Next time I would use 1 teaspoon of cinnamon and a few more chips to the other (I just kind of eye balled the chips). Both were excellent. I think the sky is the limit in terms of what you can add to these. I also want to try freezing the dough after it's been rolled out and cut. Excellent recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wausau, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
Excellent. I had never made scones before, but I tried this recipie this morning. I didn't have cream of tarter but I don't think it really made a difference to leave it out. They were SOOO delicious! Instead of raisins, I used chopped cranberries and some orange zest. They turned out amazing, I was shocked! My Husband ate 5 of them! This is the only scone recipe you need...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EvsWifey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
Great base recipe... I love this. It's so versatile. I like to use 1/2 whole wheat, and the dough still comes out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
AMAZING!!!! Made them for Thanksgiving and everyone loved them! I used dried berries instead of raisins. Also, I cut the butter in with my food processor which saved time. The bottoms turned brown quickly so I touched the tops to see if they were finished and it sunk in like raw batter. I was worried but the firmed up as they cooled. I should mention I am not an experienced baker so I wasn't aware that was possible:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
Love them! chocolate chips in place of raisins is best
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 241-250 (of 1,801) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States