Grandma Johnson's Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 25)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
My 2 small children the the sconees from Starbucks. So I thought I would give this a shot. I just made them. Once I added the wet and dry ingredients it never really formed into a ball. It was so sticky I could not get it off my hands while trying to knead together. But i still tried to form them as much as I could on the baking sheet. they turned out ok. I did add a teaspoon of vanilla. When they came out of the oven I tried one and it does seem like it is still missing a flavor. I have some inthe oven now that has the tiny chocolate morsels. hope that adds a little flavor. I wil lmake again and maybe make a few adjustments. If anyone has any suggestions on my sticky mixture would love to hear from u. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
This recipe is absolutely amazing! This is now a major family favorite on the first try of baking (and tasting!) this simple recipe. Also, instead of raisins, I used chocolate chips for a more kid-friendly food. Try it-it tastes like cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
Perfect - deserving of all the great reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
Fantastic. I made these scones EXACTLY as the recipe calls for and they were perfect. just as yummy the next day. I doubled the recipe because I needed a lot of scones and divided the dough into three different flavors, cinnamon nutmeg, cranberry orange and lemon with a lemon glaze. I just divided the dough into three bowls and in place of adding the raisens I added the drided cranberries and orange zest, cinnamon and nutmeg and lemon zest. Lemon glaze was drizzled on and I made that from some fresh lemon juice, powdered sugar and a bit of milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Wausau, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
these tasted delish! Very easy to make, I didnt add an other flour when mixing and I made blueberry white chocolate. They were dense and moist. I did have to bake mine for 23-24 mins. to get them brown on the botton and they were perfect. I cut them and put half of the uncut scones in the freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
Incredible scones. Absolutely fantastic. Used 3/4 cup gran sugar + 1/4 brown sugar I make myself that is extra dark. Added 1 T of cinnamon. Divided dough in half and put 1/2 cup mini chocolate chips and sprinkles (for kids) in half, and 1/2 cup blackberries in the other. I made some powdered sugar and then made a lemon glaze for the blackberry scones, drizzled it over, and those were the favorite by far. I was told they were the best scones people had ever had. Absolutely fantastic, thank you! I did end up needing to bake them for a total of about 22 minutes, though. UPDATE Made another batch today for Mother's Day. Did 1c blackberries for the entire batch, no brown sugar, no cinnamon, just a dash of vanilla. I plan on doing a lemon juice/powdered sugar glaze again. I did one round, 12 wedges, and notice I preferred what I did the first time: two rounds, 24 total wedges. They baked up in 15 minutes today, even with the larger size, so I'm not sure why my first batch of smaller scones took 22 minutes! Maybe I had two pans in at once. Tsk, tsk ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leanna the Squirrel

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
These scones are delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
these are the best ! I make them once a week, all of my family loves them..:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
The other reviews say it all - these scones are amazing! I was really nervous when I saw the batter- extremely sticky and hard to handle. Got even more nervous when I had to coat with a lot of flour while kneading to get it to hold it's shape and not stick. BUT, after I finally got it cut into wedges and started baking, they turned out magnificantly! I added cranberries instead of raisins, also a little vanilla and cinnamon (1 tsp each). Will probably add even more next time for more flavor, but they still had perfect density, fluffiness, shape, and texture- just like a bakery!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
These are the best scones I have ever had! My husband couldn't get enough of them either! I mixed the sour cream in baking soda in a bowl. Beat the butter and sugar in another. Then added the egg and a teaspoon of vanilla. Mixed the dry ingredients together, added them to the butter/sugar mixture. Then added the sour cream. I used chocolate chips instead of raisins, but plan on making many different combinations! I also sprinkled raw sugar on top before baking. Thank you for an excellent recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 241-250 (of 1,806) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States