Grandma Johnson's Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 23)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
These truly are awesome. Thank you so much Rob, for sharing this recipe. I have made them often and the only change I make is adding dried cherries instead of raisins. Sometimes I make this recipe plain and use it instead of shortcake with strawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
I have been making this recipe for a few years now and it is by far the best scone recipe out there! I followed it to a tee with the exception of adding craisins instead of the raisins. Excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
Very good. The entire family loved them. Even took them to work camp at church and I still get asked to make them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
I adore this recipe! Have made it quite a few times before and it never fails. This last time, I substituted 1/2c. mashed banana for half of the butter. I added cinnamon, cloves, nutmeg, allspice, and ginger. I also threw in some pieces of date and chocolate chips instead of the rasins. I have gotten rave reviews. They taste absolutely incredible!!!!!!!!! Thank you Rob for this delicious recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nomnomnom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pasadena, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ♥Tracey-Li♥
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
Every scone I've ever had at a bakery or restaurant was so dry that I finally stopped eating them. I've never made scones before so I thought I'd give it a shot. Instead of sour cream I used buttermilk; I didn't have cream of tartar so I used vinegar and doubled the amount; instead of 1 cup of butter, I used 1/2 cup unsalted butter and 1/2 cup coconut oil. I didn't have any dried fruit, so I chopped up some almond toffee candies and some milk chocolate. I was in the process of patting it out so I could cut it and bake when I realized I forgot to put the candy in. I dumped the 1 cup total of almond toffee candy and milk chocolate onto the dough and kneaded it in. At this point I was sure it wasn't going to work because every recipe I've read about scones warns you NOT to overmix. This recipe is VERY forgiving! I patted the dough out into a 12-inch circle, approximately 1/2-3/4 in thick and cut it into wedges. I baked at 350 for 18 minutes and they're yummy. Not super moist (my fault for overmixing) but not dry either. Definitely not crumbly. And definitely better than any I've ever purchased. I took some hazelnut non-dairy powder and mixed it with a little buttermilk and drizzled over the tops. So good! I don't care for overly sweet baked goods so these are perfect for me. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ♥Tracey-Li♥

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Chula Vista, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
This scones are SO good and the recipe so forgiving, that I made a mistake and they were STILL excellent! I only used 8 ounces of sour cream and the dough of course was dry! I looked at this recipe to be similar to a pie crust so I added enough cold water to hold it together. My son brought them to work and everyone raved about them. Now I don't know if I should make it the correct way next time or not. I can't imagine them being any better! Bottom line, if you don't have enough sour cream, they will STILL be excellent! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
Good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
This turned out great! Its moist and buttery. I didn't have sour cream so I used one cup of buttermilk that I made from scratch using one cup of milk and one table spoon of white vinegar and let it rest for 5 min. It came out just as good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Micky88

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
These were amazing. I have never had such great scones. I suggested going to Panera, but I wanted to try this recipe. I think it is better than what I would've gotten!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
Just made these and love them! I'm eating my 2nd one now! I halved the recipe and cut them into 8 pieces with my pizza cutter. They turned out nice and puffy with just the right amt. of sweetness. Easy recipe that you can throw together most any morning you want something different and yummy! (great with blackberry jelly!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kg

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 221-230 (of 1,821) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

Chef John's Whole-Grain Blueberry Scones

Perfect for lunch or simply to let someone know they're loved!

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States