Grandma Johnson's Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 21)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
was super easy and turned out great thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jasmine Scott-Cochran

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
Perfect! Taste and texture like the ones I enjoyed in Scotland w/clotted cream and strawberries. YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
Excellent Scones! I used cranberries instead of raisins because I like the tartness of cranberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by flower20851

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
These scones were delicious! I did take the advice from another review and added 1 teaspoon of vanilla to the egg. I used blueberries instead of rasins (personal preference). Instead of flattening the dough and cutting wedges, I just spooned the dough onto a lightly greased cookies sheet. I did have to adjust the time. I baked for about 18 minutes (timing depends on the amount of dough/size of scone).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
I made these as we were having company and they certainly were a hit and delicious.Instead of butter I used 1/2 Becel and !/2 shortening. Perfect.:-) (Not dry like most scones.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
this is not a scone it is dry with no taste, scones should be light and fluffy. and these are not, i am sad to think that here in America people think this is a scone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
EXCELLENT! I used fresh blueberries and followed the following advice: Great recipe, just a few tips to avoid dryness and any dissaster. 1. combine the sour cream (make sure you use sour cream)and baking soda, set aside. 2. mix the butter (room temp.) with the sugar (just use 3/4 cup), beat the egg w/ vanilla (yes, I add 1 tsp. of vanilla), and add to sugar/butter mixture. 3. mix well the dry ingredients and then add them to the butter/sugar/egg/vanilla, just to get all together, do not overmix. 4. Add the Sour Cream w/baking soda, again, do not overmix. From here, you can add as much "toppings" as you´d like, I try chocolate chips, but will try as many suggestions as I can. I make 16 balls and press them w/ my hands to make a flat circle. Bake them 15 min. The secret, not over mix or over handle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
I was told many years ago, when a recipe calls for sour cream, substitute Crème Fraiche. So I did and YUM YUM! I also used one cup of chilled Irish cream (butter). I added a couple of dashes of cinnamon and a tsp of vanilla as suggested by others. Will make these again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
This is a great scone recipe. The only variation was that I used blueberries. I did like someone else recommended and divided my batter in half and did 1/2 blueberries and 1/2 chocolate chips. Use frozen blueberries. They won't smash as easily and be quick once out of the freezer. If making more than one batch put the berries back in the freezer. Looking forward to making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EMHHasselbeck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
Wow! Addicting, amazing, incredible!!! I have never made scones before and I will never make any other recipe because this is perfect! I just made them and am bringing them to work with me. I know everybody is gonna love these. I followed Lucia's review as I didn't want anything to go wrong. Thank you so much Rob for sharing such a special recipe with all of us:-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mendham, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Temecula, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 201-210 (of 1,823) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

Chef John's Whole-Grain Blueberry Scones

Perfect for lunch or simply to let someone know they're loved!

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States