Grandma Johnson's Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 21)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
I was told "those were the best scones you have ever made!!!" I did make a few recipe changes and they still turned out amazing. 1.) I used Greek yogurt in place of sour cream and it tasted fine. 2.) I used King Arthur unbleached white whole wheat flour which has all the nutrition of WW flour but a milder flavor. But it does have a disticnt wheat flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
Just made these exactly as written and served them at a "High Tea" today to 63 very opinionated woman and they were a HUGE success. Everyone told me these were the BEST scones they ever tasted - and not dry as they usually are. This was the first time I ever tasted a scone and I'd have to agree. Thanks for making our tea such a hit with the ladies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
was super easy and turned out great thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jasmine Scott-Cochran

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
Perfect! Taste and texture like the ones I enjoyed in Scotland w/clotted cream and strawberries. YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
Excellent Scones! I used cranberries instead of raisins because I like the tartness of cranberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by flower20851

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
These scones were delicious! I did take the advice from another review and added 1 teaspoon of vanilla to the egg. I used blueberries instead of rasins (personal preference). Instead of flattening the dough and cutting wedges, I just spooned the dough onto a lightly greased cookies sheet. I did have to adjust the time. I baked for about 18 minutes (timing depends on the amount of dough/size of scone).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
I made these as we were having company and they certainly were a hit and delicious.Instead of butter I used 1/2 Becel and !/2 shortening. Perfect.:-) (Not dry like most scones.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
this is not a scone it is dry with no taste, scones should be light and fluffy. and these are not, i am sad to think that here in America people think this is a scone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
EXCELLENT! I used fresh blueberries and followed the following advice: Great recipe, just a few tips to avoid dryness and any dissaster. 1. combine the sour cream (make sure you use sour cream)and baking soda, set aside. 2. mix the butter (room temp.) with the sugar (just use 3/4 cup), beat the egg w/ vanilla (yes, I add 1 tsp. of vanilla), and add to sugar/butter mixture. 3. mix well the dry ingredients and then add them to the butter/sugar/egg/vanilla, just to get all together, do not overmix. 4. Add the Sour Cream w/baking soda, again, do not overmix. From here, you can add as much "toppings" as you´d like, I try chocolate chips, but will try as many suggestions as I can. I make 16 balls and press them w/ my hands to make a flat circle. Bake them 15 min. The secret, not over mix or over handle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
I was told many years ago, when a recipe calls for sour cream, substitute Crème Fraiche. So I did and YUM YUM! I also used one cup of chilled Irish cream (butter). I added a couple of dashes of cinnamon and a tsp of vanilla as suggested by others. Will make these again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 201-210 (of 1,825) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

Chef John's Whole-Grain Blueberry Scones

Perfect for lunch or simply to let someone know they're loved!

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States