Grandma Johnson's Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 20)
Photo by ♥Tracey-Li♥
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
Every scone I've ever had at a bakery or restaurant was so dry that I finally stopped eating them. I've never made scones before so I thought I'd give it a shot. Instead of sour cream I used buttermilk; I didn't have cream of tartar so I used vinegar and doubled the amount; instead of 1 cup of butter, I used 1/2 cup unsalted butter and 1/2 cup coconut oil. I didn't have any dried fruit, so I chopped up some almond toffee candies and some milk chocolate. I was in the process of patting it out so I could cut it and bake when I realized I forgot to put the candy in. I dumped the 1 cup total of almond toffee candy and milk chocolate onto the dough and kneaded it in. At this point I was sure it wasn't going to work because every recipe I've read about scones warns you NOT to overmix. This recipe is VERY forgiving! I patted the dough out into a 12-inch circle, approximately 1/2-3/4 in thick and cut it into wedges. I baked at 350 for 18 minutes and they're yummy. Not super moist (my fault for overmixing) but not dry either. Definitely not crumbly. And definitely better than any I've ever purchased. I took some hazelnut non-dairy powder and mixed it with a little buttermilk and drizzled over the tops. So good! I don't care for overly sweet baked goods so these are perfect for me. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ♥Tracey-Li♥

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Chula Vista, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
This scones are SO good and the recipe so forgiving, that I made a mistake and they were STILL excellent! I only used 8 ounces of sour cream and the dough of course was dry! I looked at this recipe to be similar to a pie crust so I added enough cold water to hold it together. My son brought them to work and everyone raved about them. Now I don't know if I should make it the correct way next time or not. I can't imagine them being any better! Bottom line, if you don't have enough sour cream, they will STILL be excellent! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
Good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
This turned out great! Its moist and buttery. I didn't have sour cream so I used one cup of buttermilk that I made from scratch using one cup of milk and one table spoon of white vinegar and let it rest for 5 min. It came out just as good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Micky88

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
These were amazing. I have never had such great scones. I suggested going to Panera, but I wanted to try this recipe. I think it is better than what I would've gotten!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
Just made these and love them! I'm eating my 2nd one now! I halved the recipe and cut them into 8 pieces with my pizza cutter. They turned out nice and puffy with just the right amt. of sweetness. Easy recipe that you can throw together most any morning you want something different and yummy! (great with blackberry jelly!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kg

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
Excellent! I have made this wonderful recipe a few different ways, it is very versatile. My fav is to add 1c. dried cherries instead of raisins, 1.5c(more/less depending on your preference)toasted sliced almonds, & to the egg or wet ing I add 1.5tsp almond ext +1tsp vanilla. If you like almond these are delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
I made these a few weeks ago for the first time. I had trouble initially with the dough - it was really crumbly. I am still giving it 5 stars for taste though, I think it was just my inexperience making scones - and also the fact that I live at high elevation that could be affecting the outcome. I am definitely going to make this recipe again and anticipate that it will come out even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Porterville, California, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
Tasty! Kids gobble them up. I have followed other reviewers advice and made very large batches, adding mini chocolate chips to 1/3 of the batter, lemon extract and poppyseeds to 1/3 of the batter and orange extract, zest and crasins to the other part. Can easily freeze in a ziploc bag and quickly defrost. My kids actually like them frozen:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
All I can say is YUM!! I have never made scones before so I looked over some recipes and thought I would try this one. So glad I did, because they were easy and really good. I made the full batch and I used the advice from another review and added vanilla. Then I split it in half and made chocolate chip and orange cranberry. They are really good. So give them a try you won't be sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 191-200 (of 1,787) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States