Grandma Johnson's Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 20)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
I made these a few weeks ago for the first time. I had trouble initially with the dough - it was really crumbly. I am still giving it 5 stars for taste though, I think it was just my inexperience making scones - and also the fact that I live at high elevation that could be affecting the outcome. I am definitely going to make this recipe again and anticipate that it will come out even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Porterville, California, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
Tasty! Kids gobble them up. I have followed other reviewers advice and made very large batches, adding mini chocolate chips to 1/3 of the batter, lemon extract and poppyseeds to 1/3 of the batter and orange extract, zest and crasins to the other part. Can easily freeze in a ziploc bag and quickly defrost. My kids actually like them frozen:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
All I can say is YUM!! I have never made scones before so I looked over some recipes and thought I would try this one. So glad I did, because they were easy and really good. I made the full batch and I used the advice from another review and added vanilla. Then I split it in half and made chocolate chip and orange cranberry. They are really good. So give them a try you won't be sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
These scones are excellent! I made them with some healthy modificaitons: Subbed applesauce for half of the butter, used only 1/2 c of sugar and 1/4 c splenda, and used whole wheat flour. I didn't use the pastry kind (King Arthur?) but they still turned out great. Baked for 12 min, just shaped triangles out of the dough by hand and it made 13 beautiful scones. I followed all of the tips in the most helpful review: "1. combine the sour cream (make sure you use sour cream)and baking soda, set aside. 2. mix the butter (room temp.) with the sugar (just use 3/4 cup), beat the egg w/ vanilla (yes, I add 1 tsp. of vanilla), and add to sugar/butter mixture. 3. mix well the dry ingredients and then add them to the butter/sugar/egg/vanilla, just to get all together, do not overmix. 4. Add the Sour Cream w/baking soda, again, do not overmix. Thanks for a great recipe! I made with a heaping cup of cranberries. Positively delicious!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
Loved how this turned out! Took some time to take but after it was all said and done it was worth it. If you guys want a better version of this recipe check it out at
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
Great recipe! It definitely makes twice as many scones as it says, though. I used white whole wheat flour and beat the egg with vanilla and got lovely, delicate scones-the whole family thought they were delicious. I've made them twice in two weeks and will definitely be making them again (maybe a variation...pumpkin sounds good.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
Excellent basic scone recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
This is the best recipe. I increased the sugar by just 1/8 to 1/4 cup and add different combinations of 'filling' -- peach/blackberries, black-n-blueberries, chocolate chunk. So far, the family loves the fruity scones although the fruit and juice changes the texture of the scone to more muffin like texture. Still so yummy!! Thank you, Grandma Johnson!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by L DeVigal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
Super yummy! I made cranberry & white chocolate scones my first time, & they turned out great. I failed at shaping them right, but who cares when they taste good. I will make them smaller next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sudbury, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
Another great scone recipe from this site. Can't go wrong here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 191-200 (of 1,780) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States