Grandma Johnson's Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
These were amazing and made some gigantic scones!! Next time I will make 2 smaller loaves & cut them into 8's. Thank you Grandma Johnson!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2012
This recipe is amazing. I was afraid of people who have experienced this scones to be dry but I had no problem at all. They were amazing, not dry and with a great flavor. I guess you have to be careful like with other batters and don't over mix. I divided the dough in 3 and made them with chocolate, walnuts and frozen berries. The blueberry scones were our favorite. Finished with a glace they were a nice treat in our 4th of July BBQ. Definitely will make this again and will add cheese and bacon for savory breakfast ones!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
I made a cinnamon version and a chocolate chip version. Even though I LOVE chocolate, I prefer the cinnamon, but my coworkers perferred the chocolate chip. The cinnamon contained cinnamon, nutmeg, and cinnamon chips. I think I added vanilla to both batches. I also found I liked forming the dough into a rectangle and cutting smaller pieces rather than the larger triangles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
Wonderfully simple, delicious and filled with endless possibilities. I divide the dough and use different fruits and/or berries. My favorite includes minced dried apricots and slightly chopped sweet coconut flakes. On this one I sprinkle some raw sugar granuals on top prior to baking. With the raisin batch I sprinkle with cinnamon/sugar. No butters and jellies needed to enjoy these. Individually wrapped after baking makes for a great, convenient morning coffee mate or afternoon tea treat. Next experiment will be using blueberries, adding in a cream cheese mixture topped with a yellow cake crumb topping. I did add 1/4 teaspoon of vanilla as suggested in another review. Everyone loves these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Kailua Kona, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
INCREDIBLE! I just pulled my first batch out of the oven and they are so amazing. I followed the recipe except I split my dough into 3 batches. The first batch I added orange zest and dried cranberries, then made a batch with dried blueberries and one with chocolate chips. This recipe is definately a keeper. I'll be making these regularly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
I have made this a couple times now. Each time the dough has turned out so dry that I have to add more sour cream just to get it to all stick together. I much prefer the Simple Scones on this website to this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dodi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
This recipe is great, the main trick is to handle the dough as little as possible for a flaky scone. I added apples and cheddar cheese, they were delicious. Definitely will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
Made them for Father's Day brunch and they were the best!!! Whole family loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
Soooo good. Moist on inside, nice crusty outside, added dried cranberries instead of raisins - was absolutely deelish. Will use this as the go-to scone recipe from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oak Harbor, Washington, USA
Living In: Edmonds, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2012
Loved these! I added chopped dried apricots instead of raisins and used glaze as someone suggested. Easy, fast, delicious. Next time (if I have any left), I'll freeze some
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 161-170 (of 1,819) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States