Grandma Johnson's Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
I have made this a couple times now. Each time the dough has turned out so dry that I have to add more sour cream just to get it to all stick together. I much prefer the Simple Scones on this website to this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dodi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
This recipe is great, the main trick is to handle the dough as little as possible for a flaky scone. I added apples and cheddar cheese, they were delicious. Definitely will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
Made them for Father's Day brunch and they were the best!!! Whole family loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
Soooo good. Moist on inside, nice crusty outside, added dried cranberries instead of raisins - was absolutely deelish. Will use this as the go-to scone recipe from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oak Harbor, Washington, USA
Living In: Edmonds, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2012
Loved these! I added chopped dried apricots instead of raisins and used glaze as someone suggested. Easy, fast, delicious. Next time (if I have any left), I'll freeze some
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
As I can't stand sour cream (no, not even in baking), I used plain Mountain High yogurt, but did need to increase the baking time by about 10-15 minutes. I added orange zest and cranberries and they came out fantastic! Definitely will make again. I'm thinking lemon zucchini next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
Best scone recipe ever, and easy to make. I learned from reviewers and didn't mix/knead dough too much. Used cold butter, cut it into flour mixture, and "mished" with my fingers. Added 1 tsp. almond extract, 1 cup sliced almonds, and 1 cup yellow raisins. Perfect, moist, and repeatable. I thank this site and Rob and all the reviewers! Lots of variations possible with chocolate chips, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
This is an excellent recipe for scones, and will now be my one and only scone recipe! We absolutely loved this recipe. The only thing that I did differently, was the way I prepared the ingredients. Like another reviewer suggested, it is best to cream the butter and sugar together in a large bowl, mix the sour cream and baking soda in a separate bowl, and mix the dry ingredients in another bowl. Add the dry ingredients to the butter mixture followed by the sour cream mixture. I added only 2/3 cup of sugar and when the scones came out of the oven I brushed agave syrup over the top. Thank you Rob for an awesome recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
These are the best scones I've ever had! They are light and buttery. They'd even be delicious plain. My first time making scones and followed the recipe almost exactly as written. The only change I made was to divide the dough in half and make part raisin and part cranberry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by justynajd
Reviewed: May 29, 2012
This is my family's #1 favorite recipe. Needless to say, I have made these scones countless times for home. They are also very, very popular with my coworkers! This recipe is delicious plain but also wonderful with additions of cinnamon/sugar, raisins, chocolate chips, dried cranberries, blueberries, and blackberries (I have tried all of these). These scones are also FABULOUS with jam. I should also add that these turned out wonderfully the first time I made them and have come out consistent every time since. So thank you, Rob, for sharing this excellent recipe! One thing to note: do not overwork this dough, it will cause the scones to become dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 1,804) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States