Grandma Johnson's Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
I made a cinnamon version and a chocolate chip version. Even though I LOVE chocolate, I prefer the cinnamon, but my coworkers perferred the chocolate chip. The cinnamon contained cinnamon, nutmeg, and cinnamon chips. I think I added vanilla to both batches. I also found I liked forming the dough into a rectangle and cutting smaller pieces rather than the larger triangles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
Wonderfully simple, delicious and filled with endless possibilities. I divide the dough and use different fruits and/or berries. My favorite includes minced dried apricots and slightly chopped sweet coconut flakes. On this one I sprinkle some raw sugar granuals on top prior to baking. With the raisin batch I sprinkle with cinnamon/sugar. No butters and jellies needed to enjoy these. Individually wrapped after baking makes for a great, convenient morning coffee mate or afternoon tea treat. Next experiment will be using blueberries, adding in a cream cheese mixture topped with a yellow cake crumb topping. I did add 1/4 teaspoon of vanilla as suggested in another review. Everyone loves these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Kailua Kona, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
INCREDIBLE! I just pulled my first batch out of the oven and they are so amazing. I followed the recipe except I split my dough into 3 batches. The first batch I added orange zest and dried cranberries, then made a batch with dried blueberries and one with chocolate chips. This recipe is definately a keeper. I'll be making these regularly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
I have made this a couple times now. Each time the dough has turned out so dry that I have to add more sour cream just to get it to all stick together. I much prefer the Simple Scones on this website to this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dodi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
This recipe is great, the main trick is to handle the dough as little as possible for a flaky scone. I added apples and cheddar cheese, they were delicious. Definitely will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
Made them for Father's Day brunch and they were the best!!! Whole family loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
Soooo good. Moist on inside, nice crusty outside, added dried cranberries instead of raisins - was absolutely deelish. Will use this as the go-to scone recipe from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oak Harbor, Washington, USA
Living In: Edmonds, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2012
Loved these! I added chopped dried apricots instead of raisins and used glaze as someone suggested. Easy, fast, delicious. Next time (if I have any left), I'll freeze some
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
As I can't stand sour cream (no, not even in baking), I used plain Mountain High yogurt, but did need to increase the baking time by about 10-15 minutes. I added orange zest and cranberries and they came out fantastic! Definitely will make again. I'm thinking lemon zucchini next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
Best scone recipe ever, and easy to make. I learned from reviewers and didn't mix/knead dough too much. Used cold butter, cut it into flour mixture, and "mished" with my fingers. Added 1 tsp. almond extract, 1 cup sliced almonds, and 1 cup yellow raisins. Perfect, moist, and repeatable. I thank this site and Rob and all the reviewers! Lots of variations possible with chocolate chips, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 1,786) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States