Grandma Johnson's Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
I prepared this scones recipe today and they came fantastically! I did not have any cream of tartar, so I did not add any but the scones came out great. Highly recommended. Thanks for sharing it!.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nurynski

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
Wow! I made these with chocolate chips instead of raisins... And they were great! Everyone loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
First time scone maker...the recipe was simple to follow and the scones were VERY delicious. Next time I will try adding pecans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nemunoz

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
Fantastic! Hold the raisins, though. And don't forget the lemon curd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Falls Church, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
Oh my goodness! Melt-in-your-mouth amazing!! The only things I changed were to use less butter (because I didn't have enough) and less sugar (because I didn't want the scones to be overly sweet. Turned out wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Heggli-Scholl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
Very moist, very delicious, very adaptable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
These are good, but honestly I have a cream scone recipe that is far simpler and more authentic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
I made these tasty scones twice and the second time I used my food processor. That made it so much easier! As I dumped out the dough I added a cup of white chocolate chips and worked that into the dough. Then I split the dough into fourths and formed each section into a six inch circle. I then spooned raspberry jelly on one surface and then placed a second circle on top. It was somewhat equal. :) I cut 8 pie-like wedge pieces then placed them on an air-bake cookie sheet. (my other cookie sheet burned the bottom before the middle was done!). I repeated for the other two circles, making a total of 16 scones. To make prettier, I drizzled white chocolate on the top. They were fabulous. I gave them as gifts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What's for supper?

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Goddard, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
I was worried at first because the dough was sooo crumbly and wouldn't moisten up. I had to knead for a while, but the dough came out perfectly in the end! I rolled the dough into a log shape and sliced it because I was making them for my son's class and wanted smaller portions. They came out looking like biscuits, but tasting like delicious scones!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SARAHJANE13

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
We loved these scones. Did a homeschool unit study on England during the Olympics and used these to accompany tea. Soooo yummy even without anything on them. Made ours with blueberries and followed recipe exactly. Kids kept asking for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 1,820) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States