Grandma Johnson's Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
These scones are amazing! When I make them, everyone that eats them raves about them. I follow the recipe pretty close, except adding a teaspoon vanilla. I also mix the baking soda in with the sour cream as suggested by one of the reviews. One review also suggested softening the butter and I would urge everyone to NOT do that unless you want flat scones. The butter should be cold and cut into the flour just like most pastries. I use my food processor. Makes a huge difference in the outcome. Thank you for the wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
Best scone recipe I've ever tried! My husband has asked me to make this almost every weekend using raisins, dried cranberries or chocolate chips. I actually don't roll the dough out and cut into wedges, but rather just place large scopes of dough on a cookie sheet. Works fine for me. Great recipe! Thank you so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
I followed this recipe exactly as written and couldn't have been happier with the outcome. The scones were delicious. I had a very happy husband who has asked me to make them at least once a month from now on! Next time I may try cutting them a tad smaller as one was too big for me and I will try some of the other suggested variations. I also made the Devonshire Cream recipe which was perfect with a little lemon curd. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy3317

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Living In: Abingdon, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mcrb
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
I never made scones before and these came out perfect! I made the recipe exactly as written excluding the raisins. I was bringing them for dessert and wasn't sure how they would come out, so I divided the dough into 3rds. I mixed 1/3 with some cinnamon & nutmeg, 1/3 with white chocolate chips and dried cranberries and left 1/3 plain. Each portion I cut into 6 wedges which is smallish but I figured people could sample more than one, and each kind was delicious. Also, I love Starbuck's scones and I thought these were just as good if not better! Thank you for a fantastic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
These scones turned out awesome. They were gone in a day and a half. I only had a 1/2 cup of sour cream, so I substituted the other 1/2 with plain home made yogurt (which is very sour!) and they turned out wonderfully. I think I like them better than the Allan Bros scones in Corvallis and that's saying a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Espydublohef

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Jerome, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
Even my husband, who dislikes scones, loved these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
This was my first time making ans eating scones and I must say it was delicious!! This is a great recipe! I omitted the raisins since I don't particullarly care for them. Thanks for sharing! Will definitely make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
OHMIGOD!!! These were awesome! I made mine with craisins and i would have eaten them all in 1 sitting if it had been physically possible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Knightdale, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Garner, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
AWESOME !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
I gave this a 4 for taste...either mine didn't turn out right or the recipe isn't quite what I am looking for. I am used to scones being more dense and well shaped. However, my scones tended to flatten and were extremely soft and flaky...more like a biscuit, but without the actual crust of the biscuit. I will try with a denser flour. Worth making for the flavor...just not quite what I was expecting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 1,788) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States