Grandma Johnson's Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
These scones were delicious! I read reviews and I decided to add a couple new things, I added 1 tsp of vanilla, 1 tsp of cinnamon, and 1/2 tsp of nutmeg. I really think these were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2014
These are really full flavored scones that can be eaten plain. There's no need to add butter (there's alot in them already) or jam but you can. I added dried cranberries and 2 T orange juice. Very delicious! The scones are very tender with a light exterior crust. I will make these again for sure. They would be excellent used in strawberry shortcake, minus the raisins or cranberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2014
Superb! Made with frozen blueberries instead of raisins. Topped with a simple glaze: 2.5 cups powdered sugar 1/4 cup whole milk (More If Needed For Thinning) 1/4 tsp vanilla 1 dash salt
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
Have made Grandma Johnson's Scones a few times. Always come out nice and fluffy. The tick is to not over mix or need.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
easy and very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
just the right amount of sweetness in my opinion! i used blueberries instead of raisins and sprinkled just a touch of sugar on the top prior to baking. lovely and easy recipe!! so glad i found it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
Awesome recipe! My whole family loved these scones,especially my dad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MariyaR

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gmorriello
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
Definitely use food processor!!! I added 2 tbs orange peel, pecans and craisins! Amazing!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
I just made the most amazing scones using this recipe. I didn't have sour cream so I used yogurt. I added lemon and orange zest and 2 tbsp lemon juice. This will be my go to recipe for scones. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
I never made scones before but everyone raved about the scones, so I will make them again. I just topped them off with some milk and sour cream before baking them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,786) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States