Grandma Johnson's Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
Excellent recipe and works beautifully followed as per the directions. Someone said they might be better without the egg........scones nearly, nearly always have an egg or two whatever depends on the amount of flour. I was brought up eating and baking scones so have tasted good and bad. Scones, like biscuits, are better eaten fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
Delicious! Very buttery taste! I added blueberries to half of the recipe and they turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
I'm giving this 5 stars if you follow the directions with a couple differences. I just now made this recipe pre-mixing the sour cream and baking soda, and also with butter that had been sitting out about 20 min -- big mistake! Other times these have come out perfect, like THE BEST scone, flaky and incredible texture. Raves from everyone. This time, premixing the sour cream and with slightly less than fresh outta the fridge butter, they are... notably less good. As one other reviewer noted, "more like a muffin," alas. Tips: - KEEP THE BUTTER REALLY COLD - DON'T PREMIX THE SOUR CREAM + BAKING SODA. Just mix dry things, then cut in butter, add sour cream and egg. It is VERY crumbly if you do it this way. I shape this recipe into two rounds, you really need to press it together but the butter will make them stick, but barely. Then cut into 6 triangles then cut each in half; I end up with 24 smaller triangles. Add your extras after your mix, I use blueberries sometimes, or make cinnamon chips, or sometimes a "savory" verion by adding ham, cheddar, and green onion. They are ALL KILLER if you get that texture right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2013
Easy to make and yummy. Would roll thicker than recipe suggests next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2013
Made these as a test run for my youngest's Tea Party Birthday. Followed the directions exactly but divided the dough and made 1/2 plain and 1/2 with dried blueberries. They were delicious! My daughter loved them too (she's almost 4) and gave her seal of approval. I plan to make these into 2.5 inch rounds with a biscuit cutter in blueberry and chocolate chip for her friends to have with their 'tea' at her party. Thanks for a new favorite go to recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DRUCIFER

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corning, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
This is a great recipe. The only changes were I cooked them for a few minutes longer and drizzled confectioners sugar mixed with a small amount of water and vanilla. Have made this for many occasions and it is always a hit. Thanks for the recipe. DG
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
Fantastic scone recipe. I followed as written using cold butter and cutting it in. Scones came out moist, but flakey. Husband gave them an A+! I did add 1 teaspoon of almond extract to the eggs before blending. This is a great base recipe and I look forward to trying different flavor combos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
I can't rate these fairly as is, because I didn't follow the recipe exactly. When I read from some reviewers that the texture was more like a "muffin", I didn't want that. I wanted more of a crisp, crumbly texture. One reviewer recommended omitting the egg so as not to get that muffin kind of texture, so that's what I did differently. Instead of the egg, I added 1/4 cup of milk in its place. The dough was indeed very crumbly and hard to work with, but the end result was good, though still not as "dry" as I would have liked. My husband LOVES them. I added fresh blueberries instead of the raisins and baked them for 25 minutes (they are big). I also gave them a quick brushing of egg white and a dusting of some course grained sugar on the top before baking, and that added a nice touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
I've made these several times...actually have some in the oven now!!! these are SOOOOOOO good and it's the only scone recipe I use!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2013
Very fast and easy cooking. Tastes great! Recommended recipe for baking beginners.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 1,799) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States